Wisconsin Native's Beer Cheese Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2010
This was a great base recipe, but I followed my instincts and changed a few things around, which made for a successful, delicious and filling soup!! I used a full stick of butter and divided it. I put half in my stock pot, let it melt a little, then threw in all my veggies. I also added two more cloves of garlic. I omitted the hot sauce (I don't care much for the vinegary flavor of hot sauce), but I liberally sprinkled the veggies with cayenne, a touch of chili powder, paprika, kosher salt and cracked black pepper. I sauteed them for about 8 mins together. Then, I sprinkled about a Tbsp of flour across the veggies and allowed that to cook for about 4 or 5 minutes more. I poured in the beer first, so the flavor could penetrate the veggies, and let the alcohol cook off. Then I added the stock and a dash or two of worcestershire. I allowed that mixture to cook for about 30 mins. In another pan, I melted the other half of a stick of butter. I used the flower to build a roux and allowed that to brown. Then, I added the half and half, little by little, incorporating it completely into the roux. I stirred until smooth and creamy, then slowly added it to the simmering beer mixture. I added a tsp of dijon mustard, a few more splashes of Worcestershire, about a tsp of dry mustard, cayenne, salt and pepper (if needed). I let it sit on low, for about 10 more minutes just to let the flavors meld together. I served with a large crusty baguette and it filled up the family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
I made this for my friend's Oktoberfest party and it got rave reviews. As I didn't want chunky vegetables in the soup, I used a stick blender after cooking the veggies to puree. I also added probably a teaspoon or two of cider vinegar as I didn't find that the sharp cheese I used was quite sharp enough. Finally, I found that the flavor benefitted greatly from sitting overnight in the fridge. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sarasota, Florida, USA
Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2010
I made this soup exactly as the recipe stated for an Octoberfest party. It was a big hit!!!Very tasty and will make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2010
Great flavor! I prefer a smoother beer cheese soup, so I blended the leftovers. I used to work at a restaurant that served beer cheese soup--I don't know how authentic it was, but it's what I'll be aiming for next time I make this: I'll reduce the broth to make the soup thicker, omit the celery and carrot, and add diced potatoes. I found this separates quite a bit and doesn't make the best leftovers, so I'd suggest making enough for one, maybe two nights.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KymInNM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Central Point, Oregon, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2010
This was a hit with my picky family. My husband, who can be hard to cook for, said this is a definite keeper. Went with the croutons instead of the popcorn, at another reviewer's suggestion, and it was good. I could see where popcorn would get soggy pretty quickly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
I made this tonight. It was DELICIOUS!!!! It took a little longer for me to thicken than the recipe called for and I even used half and half vs. milk, but in time it did thicken. Once I mixed everything together, I fired up the burner and got it to a boil and then reduced it to a simmer and it did thicken. It was to die for. I made a couple changes to the original recipe as well. I diced up two russet potatoes into the mix. Made a great addition and I'm sure it will be even better tomorrow with all those added potato starches :) I also fried up some bacon in a separate frying pan to crumble on top of the finished product, but before I dished up the soup, I added a few TBSP of the bacon grease right into the soup. It was very good!!! Oh and I tripled the hot sauce as well cause I love the hot sauce! I definitely recommend this recipe if you are looking for something cheesy and hearty for a nice fall day. Was great for Sunday football. I didn't try the popcorn on top, but the bacon was awesome!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
Absolutly delicious , my whole family couldn't stop . Followed the recipe exactly , turned out to be very thick and creamy I did opt to use 1/2 and 1/2 because of the other reviews
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: North Bay, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
This will definitely satisfy a craving for dairy. It was so good. Everyone loves it. YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2010
This was a good recipe, I loved the subtle spiciness. I did make a few changes to it: I used vegetable broth rather than chicken and omitted the worcestershire sauce (I am a vegetarian so I just upped the salt a bit); I also ran the broth/veggie mix through the blender to incorporate the veggies better before adding the cheese mixture; I used a pound of Velveeta cheese rather than sharp cheddar & finally I added a bit more beer at the end of cooking because I found the flavor disappeared somewhat when adding it right near the beginning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2010
I loved the result, and my SUPER PICKY 4 year old is enjoying the lefovers as cheese sauce for Mac and cheese. I did follow one reviewer's suggestion and sauteed the vegies in the butter, then added flour, then broth and beer, simmered, then added milk and cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BZeeMom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Miami Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 225) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make quick-and-easy cheese soup with broccoli.

Excellent Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make homemade broccoli cheese soup.

Cauliflower Soup with Blue Cheese Fritters

Earthy, comforting cauliflower soup is topped with light, cheesy fritters.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States