Wisconsin Native's Beer Cheese Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
This is now a staple at our Christmas dinner!!! Absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
added bacon and an extra bottle of beer just before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
I'd been craving a good beer cheese soup & this was just the ticket. It turned out perfect as written!! Thanks so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Otsego, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2011
I found this recipe on here 3 years ago and have been making it ever since. It's delicious. I have discovered a few things that make it a little easier and a more rounded meal. First, don't use preshredded cheese-the chemicals they put on the preshredded keep it from melting into the mixture smoothly. Second, cook the vegetables much longer than the recipe says, I cook until soft, however long it takes. And last, I add lots of chopped broccoli (and/or cauliflower) and slices of smoked sausage. In addition, I don't care for spicy hot things at all, so I omit the hot pepper sauce and the cayenne pepper - I get a whole lot more of the other flavors this way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
I didn't really care for the texture of the soup or the flavor from the sharp cheddar cheese. I could have thrown the soup in the food processor to thin it out a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
Very good! Thinner than I thought it would be or I would have given it a 5. I used the ingredients as written, but made in one pot: sweated the veggies in the butter until tender, added broth until hot, then milk till hot, then the flour tossed with cheese so I wouldn't get lumps in the soup. Beer and last seasonings at the end. Next time I will add less broth or some instant mashed potatoes to thicken it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
This was tasty, but I'd prefer a recipe with less carrot. The carrots are good, but I'd prefer a straight up beer cheese soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsFisher0729

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2010
I have made this recipe three times now. I did mix the cheese up, sharp cheddar, swiss & monteray jack. I don't keep dry mustard, so we use spicy brown only, not the dijon+dry. The first time I made this it seemed to chunky. I take my hand/stick blender and blend the veggie mix once it is cooked, almost to a puree. A nice dark beer is perfect, we use Smithwicks. We like to serve this with beer bread! Thanks for the great recipe!! It is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2010
Very good. Daughter used this recipe to prepare a Wisconsin dinner for a group in Japan!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
I've had many beers cheese soups and this one gritty texture and overwhelming with mustard. Disappointing to a Wisconsin cheese lover!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 225) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make quick-and-easy cheese soup with broccoli.

Excellent Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make homemade broccoli cheese soup.

Cauliflower Soup with Blue Cheese Fritters

Earthy, comforting cauliflower soup is topped with light, cheesy fritters.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States