Wisconsin Native's Beer Cheese Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Shabby
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2014
Jillian styled the veggies, and topped with homemade garlic bread croutons and green onions. Super delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2014
I have made this recipe before amd its so good. It reminds me of the beer cheese soup I've had when I was a kid in North Dakota. Thanks for sharing it. I do make a small change though, before I add the beer mixture to the cheese mixture I purree it so it makes for a very smooth beer cheese soup. Super delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2014
Was very tasty. I used a Magic Hat #9. I would have liked a little more beer taste, so maybe I should use a stronger beer. But overall great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2014
it was very good. I used 1/2 sharp and 1/2 extra sharp cheese. I put a few home made croutons on top. To the person that said her vegetables were not soft after a half hour--that doesn't seem possible unless your stove was set at the lowest possible setting the entire time. I cooked the vegetables for about 7 minutes before adding the the other ingredients and they were softened nicely. This is my usual routine for cooking the onion, celery, carrot combo for any soup/stew.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Albans, Vermont, USA
Living In: Bakersfield, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2014
I've made this recipe several times and it just gets better each time. I do the veggies/beer/chicken stock in their own pot and make the rue/milk/cheese mixture in a separate pot with all of the spices. I mix the two and then I put it in the blender until it is velvety smooth. I think the two key things are 1. good beer (I use Spotted Cow) and 2. Pureeing in the blender for a creamy, smooth texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DaNeera Dufur

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2014
Learned a trick with Fondue when dealing with melting cheese in anything and adding powdered spices/thickeners/etc later... don't add it later. Mix the shredded cheese with your powdered stuff in a mixing bowl. THEN add it to your beer/wine/broth. Instead of it being able to clump when you add it, it is stuck to the cheese itself and becomes part of the mix much more smoothly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2014
My kids didn't care for it, so I won't be making it again. I sauted the veggies, put the flour in to make a roux, added the liquids and heated to very warm, then added the cheese. I did add more flour because it wasn't thick enough. I would recommend a really light beer, like bud light...then it might be okay for kids. I used a kolsch, but left too much of a taste for the kiddos. :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Camas Mom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eugene, Oregon, USA
Living In: Camas, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2014
This was just okay. Not nearly as good as what I've had at restaurants. Won't be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tracy
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2014
This is the best beer cheese soup I have tasted. I used water instead of chicken broth. It came out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2014
I made it exactly like Naples (most helpful positive review) suggested and it came out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 233) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Excellent Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make homemade broccoli cheese soup.

Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make quick-and-easy cheese soup with broccoli.

Cauliflower Soup with Blue Cheese Fritters

Earthy, comforting cauliflower soup is topped with light, cheesy fritters.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States