Wisconsin Native's Beer Cheese Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Tracy
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2014
This is the best beer cheese soup I have tasted. I used water instead of chicken broth. It came out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2014
I made it exactly like Naples (most helpful positive review) suggested and it came out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2014
This soup is full of flavor. I make with Guinness for a bold flavor. The only reason that I didn't give it four stars is because it does have a slightly grainy texture that Beer Cheese Soup I've ordered at restaurants doesn't have. But I've made the recipe three times, so that's not enough to discourage me from eating it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: St. Cloud, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2014
I love this soup but don't care for vegetable chunks. After softening the veggies I put small batches in the blender. Followed the rest of the recipe as is but also added some grilled, chopped brats at then end. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2014
We were looking for a soup that might mimic one at a nearby restaurant. This wasn't quite the same, but was still very good. I wasn't up for dirtying multiple pans, so I sautéed the veggies in butter in the stock pot, and then scooped them out in to a bowl while I made the roux. Once the roux was browned, added in the milk/half-and-half (I used 2 cups of each) and then put everything else together. The main thing I would change next time would be to use less broth. After simmering for at least a half hour, it was still much thinner than we would have liked. I might also puree some or most of the veggies after sautéing them to keep the consistency a little silkier. The flavor, however, was great! (And I used some Boulevard Wheat for my beer; it was perfect.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by beth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tonganoxie, Kansas, USA
Living In: Mission, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2014
I tried this because I liked the large amount of veggies. This comes out better if they are chopped very fine. This helps them cook completely and they won't sink when served. These are very large servings. I started out making half to try it and I have enough for several lunches. My main downgrade is that cheese measured in cups can very a lot. I wish I knew the weight. I was reluctant to try popcorn but homemade croutons were great with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2014
I made this for the Super Bowl Cooking Challenge for about 100 people (4 ounce servings) and it was soooo good. I made way too much but it was hard to judge the amount per serving. I made a recipe for 60 (using this recipe as serving 10 not 8 which I now figures is about 1 1/2 cups per serving) and it made 6 gallons. I used a gallon of milk + 1 quart half and half; 8 beers; 16 cups of chicken broth. Even with reduced liquid I needed to add a lot more flour (Wondra) to thicken it up. Also, I used my immersible blender and pureed the veggies then had to do it again with the cheese to get it thoroughly melted and smooth. The mustards and worcestershire really make the flavor stand out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
I'm from Wisconsin and we know our beer cheese soup, this recipe is great! I add cornstarch and water at end to thicken slightly, but the flavor can't be beat! Served in homemade bread bowls has my family asking for this soup again and again, with picky eaters you know that makes it a hit!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
I was worried about blandness, so I tripled the garlic, added some chopped serranos, more hot sauce, and followed the previous reviewers suggestions of making a roux and using one pot. Pretty good soup for a chilly evening! Next time I will add more chilies and use a darker beer
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
Wow. This is soooo good. This is the 1st Beer Cheese soup I've ever tried. Stumbled across this recipe and it just sounded good. I took off 1 star only because I didn't follow the recipe exactly as written, but used all the ingredients as listed but followed naples34102's cooking method- did it all in 1 pot and sweating the vegetables in the butter, instead of boiling them. The extra steps seemed to just over complicate things and result in more pots and pans to wash. I also topped it with bacon instead of the popcorn. This recipe is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 225) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make quick-and-easy cheese soup with broccoli.

Excellent Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make homemade broccoli cheese soup.

Cauliflower Soup with Blue Cheese Fritters

Earthy, comforting cauliflower soup is topped with light, cheesy fritters.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States