Wisconsin Five-Cheese Bake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2011
The texture of this dish was not at all the cheesy gooey I was hoping for. My husband who will eat anything didn't care for it even. Very bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2011
Fantastic!!! used 1 cup smoked swiss, 2 cups mozzerella, 1 cup parm-reggiano. Doubled sour cream and ricotta. Baked at 350 30 min or til bubbly at edges. One of the creamiest I have ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2011
Super cheesy, delicious recipe! I did double the sour cream and ricotta cheese, and was heavy-handed with the rest. My family gobbled it down!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2011
This was an easy to make recipe. I made this recipe as written. The flavors of the different cheeses complimented each other well. The dryness of the Ricotta helped cut through the grease of the other cheeses. The ONLY thing I will be adding to it next time will be some ham cubes. That will make it a one dish meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2011
My husband and I really liked this. It was a little dry but I think more sour cream and ricotta will help next time. I will be making it again next week for my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by evilboohbah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Ana, California, USA
Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2011
I love this recipe. I usually whatever shredded cheeses they have at my grocery. Because I am a quick cooking type of girl, I used a pack of ranch dressing seasoning instead of the chopped fresh parsley and dried Italian seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
Nothing makes me happier than to see my son go for second helpings!!! This was great. I did not have provolone, so I used chedder. And I did not have ricotta. I also added bread crumbs to the top as reccomended by another reviewer and broiled for the last five minutes. That was key - it does taste like cheesy bread. Would make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burlington, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Tyngsboro, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
My family loved this. More important all three kids said it was absolutely delicious. Never have all three of my childen loved the same dish. A winner in my house. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2010
i found this to be very dry. also i skipped thegarlic salt and added fresh garlic. just wasnt salty enough. i recommend adding some butter to the pasta and some more liquid to the cheese mixture and it might be a winner. still, cant tough my grans....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
This is an amazing base recipe. I have made variations on this several times (the original was a little bland for me). All my family and friends are mac & cheese lovers and this recipe seems to come out on top out of all the ones I have tried. I change up the cheeses and use whatever cheese appeals to me on that day/whatever is in the fridge, usually starting with a six-cheese Italian blend and a sharp cheddar. I sometimes will grate in some extra-sharp cheddar as well. Some asiago gives it some nice kick. I have used Monterey Jack as well. All in all, I try to get about 6 cups of shredded cheese in there (2 more cups than the recipe specifies) to make it super gooey and cheesy. To the ricotta mixture (the genius part of this recipe that makes it so creamy and wonderful), I throw in a little cayenne pepper, as well as extra amounts of the other seasonings to my taste. I omit the parsley and grind in a little salt and pepper. I have also substituted plain greek yogurt for the sour cream. On top, I throw some plain or Italian panko and an additional layer of cheese. Delicious!!! Oh, and I also use cavatappi or cellentani instead of the elbows, but that's pure preference :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 93) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Wisconsin Five-Cheese Bake

See how to make the cheesiest cheese bake ever.

Wisconsin Bratwurst

These classic brats are boiled in beer and onions and finished on the grill.

Celery Root and Cheese Bake

Slices of celeriac bake in a creamy sauce topped with Cheddar.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States