Wisconsin Five-Cheese Bake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2013
This was a heart attack on a plate in the best way possible. Used what cheeses I had on hand - mozzarella, swiss, muenster, provolone and 2 kinds of parmesan. I added a tablespoon of pesto and some tabasco to the ricotta mixture instead of the dry seasonings. This added a nice punch of flavor. I think next time I will increase the ricotta mixture so that it will be creamier. Maybe not double but by half. Much quicker than traditional mac and cheese - thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2013
We all agreed this is the best homemade mac 'n cheese I've ever tried! I substituted monterey jack for provolone and added a healthy amount of black pepper. I grated everything finely and it melted together wonderfully. The most exciting thing about this recipe is that I think doubling the cream mixture and tossing in 1/2 cup of mild cheddar cheese might turn this into Jim 'n Nick's macaroni and cheese (my favorite)! I'll wait a few weeks before testing that out though, this is definitely a special occasion dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrs.embee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2013
Yes, yes, and yes! I made these a while back and added a 1/2 - 3/4 cup pumpkin puree that I had on hand and they came out so good! I love the combination of the seafood and cheese, and even though I only used imitation crab the meal still came out super tasty. You should definitely try this one out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shyla Lane

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manteca, California, USA
Living In: Tustin, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2013
Sort of dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melyni27

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Langhorne, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Plymouth Meeting, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2012
I made this the first time almost using the exact recipe...minus the italian seasoning and parsley and added seasoned bread crumbs on top to make it crispy...they second time I changed the cheeses a little by adding more sharp cheeses...used a sharp chedder and sharp provolone and it was awesome..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
After reading the reviews I knew I had to do some tweaking. What I did not know is that these tweaks would put this recipe out of the ballpark! First, I used more cheese than called for. Maybe 2 cups or more. I doubled the amount of sour cream. I used Barilla penne pasta. I dissolved 3 chicken bouillon cubes in about 2 tablespoons of water in the microwave and added them to the half and half/whole milk mixture (1 cup). I used about 2 TBSP each of Italian seasoning and crushed red pepper flakes. I didn't have ricotta, so used about 2 cups of cottage cheese and 1 egg, beat slightly. I also reserved about 1 cup of cheeses mixed with about 1/2 C of plain breadcrumbs. Lastly, I used ground black pepper and minced garlic. I baked it 15-20 min, then broiled for 5 min.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2012
Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2012
This was delicious. I substituted white sharp cheddar instead of provolone. Absolutely fantastic
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tartsul
Reviewed: May 7, 2012
I added chicken and broccoli to mine! it's yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CandyInVa
Reviewed: May 1, 2012
my fav baked mac and cheese recipe, always come back to this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CandyInVa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 91) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Wisconsin Five-Cheese Bake

See how to make the cheesiest cheese bake ever.

Wisconsin Bratwurst

These classic brats are boiled in beer and onions and finished on the grill.

Celery Root and Cheese Bake

Slices of celeriac bake in a creamy sauce topped with Cheddar.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States