Wisconsin Five-Cheese Bake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2013
This is absolutely the best macaroni and cheese I've ever had. I make it about once a week, and I love it every single time!! I add about an extra 1/2 cup to a cup of cheddar cheese and extra oregano and it is perfection. I highly recommend this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2013
First time I made this I followed recipe exactly. It was very tasty but a little dry. And not great nutritionally. The next time I made the following changes: 1. Used Barilla Plus macaroni (made with lots of legumes but tastes like regular mac - my kids won't eat whole wheat mac); 2. Instead of the heavy cream, I used reduced fat evaporated milk. I started with 1/2 cup, but when I was mixing the cheeses with the mac, I added about 1/3 cup more to moisten. 3. Other smaller tweaks for flavor - used full teaspoon of Italian herbs, skipped the parsley, used garlic powder instead of garlic salt because the cheeses are already salty, sprinkled Panko bread crumbs on the top before the final layer of cheese. I'll never use any other recipe now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2013
Yummy :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2013
This is my new favorite mac and cheese. It is rich and cheesy, and the broiling gives it a yummy crust. I didn't have any heavy cream, so I used a full cup of sour cream. I also added about 1/4 cup Of almond milk I also added 5 cloves of fresh garlic to the sour cream mixture. I also add some herbs de provence. I used mixed cheese from Costco. One is a Mexican blend, and the other the Italian mix. I didn't measure, but threw some in until it looked about right. It came out crispy on top and tasted fabulous. My adult daughter loved it too. When I told her I added the garlic, she said, "there is no such thing as too much garlic!" Still the garlic was not overpowering.. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2013
This was a heart attack on a plate in the best way possible. Used what cheeses I had on hand - mozzarella, swiss, muenster, provolone and 2 kinds of parmesan. I added a tablespoon of pesto and some tabasco to the ricotta mixture instead of the dry seasonings. This added a nice punch of flavor. I think next time I will increase the ricotta mixture so that it will be creamier. Maybe not double but by half. Much quicker than traditional mac and cheese - thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2013
We all agreed this is the best homemade mac 'n cheese I've ever tried! I substituted monterey jack for provolone and added a healthy amount of black pepper. I grated everything finely and it melted together wonderfully. The most exciting thing about this recipe is that I think doubling the cream mixture and tossing in 1/2 cup of mild cheddar cheese might turn this into Jim 'n Nick's macaroni and cheese (my favorite)! I'll wait a few weeks before testing that out though, this is definitely a special occasion dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrs.embee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2013
Yes, yes, and yes! I made these a while back and added a 1/2 - 3/4 cup pumpkin puree that I had on hand and they came out so good! I love the combination of the seafood and cheese, and even though I only used imitation crab the meal still came out super tasty. You should definitely try this one out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shyla Lane

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manteca, California, USA
Living In: Tustin, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2013
Sort of dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melyni27

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Langhorne, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Plymouth Meeting, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2012
I made this the first time almost using the exact recipe...minus the italian seasoning and parsley and added seasoned bread crumbs on top to make it crispy...they second time I changed the cheeses a little by adding more sharp cheeses...used a sharp chedder and sharp provolone and it was awesome..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
After reading the reviews I knew I had to do some tweaking. What I did not know is that these tweaks would put this recipe out of the ballpark! First, I used more cheese than called for. Maybe 2 cups or more. I doubled the amount of sour cream. I used Barilla penne pasta. I dissolved 3 chicken bouillon cubes in about 2 tablespoons of water in the microwave and added them to the half and half/whole milk mixture (1 cup). I used about 2 TBSP each of Italian seasoning and crushed red pepper flakes. I didn't have ricotta, so used about 2 cups of cottage cheese and 1 egg, beat slightly. I also reserved about 1 cup of cheeses mixed with about 1/2 C of plain breadcrumbs. Lastly, I used ground black pepper and minced garlic. I baked it 15-20 min, then broiled for 5 min.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 95) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Wisconsin Five-Cheese Bake

See how to make the cheesiest cheese bake ever.

Easy BBQ Bake

A perfect recipe for indoor BBQ chicken.

Wisconsin Bratwurst

These classic brats are boiled in beer and onions and finished on the grill.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States