Wisconsin Five-Cheese Bake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2013
I liked this recipe for the cheesiness. I replaces the provolone with sharp cheddar because that's what we had, but it still lacked a little oomph. I think next time I will add some seasoned bread crumbs to give it some crunch and also maybe a little more herb seasoning or another kind of seasoning all around. Definitely great for cheese lovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2013
A HUGE hit with my family, for both the kids and the adults. I didn't change a thing. So savory!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2013
Too dry
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lili Goehring

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2013
Ugh, never again. My husband and I found it to be dry and bland. He loves cheese, but even he couldn't stand it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2013
This is a good basic recipe to go by measurement wise, and without butter and flour, but you all with the dry dishes are clearly not Italian! Parmesan is a dry cheese, softer cheese melt better and get that gooey consistency. Sub the parm for gruyere and add more ricotta, sour cream, and maybe a tablespoon of butter. Super rich but it won't be dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2013
I have made "white" mac and cheese before, only to be disappointed at its lack of flavor. This pasta bake made up for all those failures - it had a rich, yet light, flavor, and was delightfully creamy. I do not own a dish I can broil in, so the only change I made was to put the cheese topping on before popping the pasta into the oven, to let it bake and melt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2013
I know it's practically a sin to review a recipe that you didn't make as-is, but this turned out so good that I feel like I have to anyway. I didn't have ricotta or cream, so I used plain almond milk and some extra sour cream. The only cheese I had in the house was shredded Mexican blend left over from taco night. It was delicious: perfectly creamy and moist, flavorful, and cheesy. Highly recommended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2013
This is absolutely the best macaroni and cheese I've ever had. I make it about once a week, and I love it every single time!! I add about an extra 1/2 cup to a cup of cheddar cheese and extra oregano and it is perfection. I highly recommend this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2013
First time I made this I followed recipe exactly. It was very tasty but a little dry. And not great nutritionally. The next time I made the following changes: 1. Used Barilla Plus macaroni (made with lots of legumes but tastes like regular mac - my kids won't eat whole wheat mac); 2. Instead of the heavy cream, I used reduced fat evaporated milk. I started with 1/2 cup, but when I was mixing the cheeses with the mac, I added about 1/3 cup more to moisten. 3. Other smaller tweaks for flavor - used full teaspoon of Italian herbs, skipped the parsley, used garlic powder instead of garlic salt because the cheeses are already salty, sprinkled Panko bread crumbs on the top before the final layer of cheese. I'll never use any other recipe now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2013
Yummy :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 92) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Wisconsin Five-Cheese Bake

See how to make the cheesiest cheese bake ever.

Wisconsin Bratwurst

These classic brats are boiled in beer and onions and finished on the grill.

Celery Root and Cheese Bake

Slices of celeriac bake in a creamy sauce topped with Cheddar.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States