Wisconsin Cheese Soup II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2010
A few simple changes easily elevated this 3-star recipe to 4-stars, and darned near to perfect. To begin with, as I was measuring out the carrots, I stopped at about 1/4 cup, thinking that using a full cup of carrots would be waaaaay too much. I filled the remainder of the 1-cup measuring cup with celery and we loved the addition/substitution. With not much in the way of diverse and complex flavors going on here, I thought it was important to make the very most of the flavors I DID have - namely, substituting a good chicken broth for the water and chicken bouillion called for and adding fresh minced garlic to the onions as they were being sweated out. Finely, while straight Cheddar is inarguably the best for flavor, replacing half of it with processed cheese (i.e. Velveeta) ensures a rich creaminess that is virtually guaranteed not to break down and separate. Several good shakes of salt and freshly ground pepper and we were rewarded with a rich, creamy, flavorful and comforting broccoli cheese soup. I garnished it with a crostini topped with a sprinkle of grated Cheddar cheese and a tiny broccoli floret. This, along with "Greek Chicken Wraps," also from this site, was a nourishing, easy, and laid back supper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2010
Simple but good. I was searching for a recipe that didnt use processed "cheese food." I like the broccoli in here. The sliced carrots were a bit too big, next time I think I will dice them. You could probably thicken this with mashed potatoes. But I like this the way it is. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BatikWindmillTurban

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2010
This soup is amazing and so simple to make!! The only changes i made were -- instead of 2 cups of milk i used one cup low fat milk and one cup fat free creamer. I also added in some chopped spinach.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2010
It is so nice to have a soup that does not use processed cheese! I make this for lunch a lot as it is quick and easy to make. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2010
This is a delicious and simple soup to make. I needed to use up a lot of broccoli, so I quadrupled the veggies, milk and water. I only doubled the roux to save on fat and calories; it is still creamy, but not too thick (just the way we like it!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2010
A staple in our house! The ONLY brocoli cheese soup that I make... it is fast, easy and delicous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2010
This is one of the best soups ever. I love brocolli and cheese. This soup is so delicious! Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2010
This recipe is great! I used swanson broth instead of the granules and also added extra toward the end of cooking time since the soup was so thick! I followed the recipe pretty closely adding only garlic salt and using less cheese than recommended (approximately 1 1/4 cup of SHARP cheddar) I enjoyed this so much and I'm really glad to have found a broccoli soup recipe that doesn't use nasty fake cheese. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carrieh82

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2010
This was easy to make and tasted fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2010
I made it today for the first time and I loved it! Even my 9 months old baby and my 4 year old loved it. This recipe is definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 148) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Excellent Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make homemade broccoli cheese soup.

Cauliflower Soup with Blue Cheese Fritters

Earthy, comforting cauliflower soup is topped with light, cheesy fritters.

Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make quick-and-easy cheese soup with broccoli.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States