Wisconsin Cheese Soup II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2004
everyone is right when they say this is the best cheese soup you will eat. my son ate 5 helpings at dinner and then ate the last bowl before he went to bed. he said it was the best soup he has ever eaten. i did add a few things though. i added a couple extra chicken cubes. i also added celery and blanched broccoli at the end. i sliced and pre cooked and drained of fat smoked sausage. it made a very hearty chowder on a cold night. a must to try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2004
Maybe I did something wrong, but my cheese tried to return to its prior shape! It melted fine, but once off the heat it began to come back together and get sticky and stringy. It was a gloppy mess that stuck to our spoons and was hard to eat. Flavor was fine, but would not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2004
This was wonderful~ a nice creamy, filling soup. I didn't have the fresh veggies the recipe called for, so I pureed a bag of broccoli/carrot mix in my food processor and used it instead. My soup was pretty thick~ (maybe because I changed the veggies?) more like a cheese sauce~ so I added about two cups of chicken broth and then it came out perfectly. This recipe is definitely a keeper- thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2004
For Lent and Lo-carb I omitted the flour and substituted heavy whipping cream and water (equal parts) for the milk. This was an awesome soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2004
It was good, but the Broccoli Cheese soup we get from this site is even better. It's called Broccoli Cheese Soup III. That recipie is 5 star.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Farmingville, New York, USA
Living In: Geneseo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2004
Verrrry good and yummy! We tried adding some worchestire sauce and some cayenne pepper as well. (We only tried that on half of the batch.) I also used homemade chicken stock, since I had some on hand. Wow! This soup is perfect either way (with the add-ins or not!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Romeo, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2003
Wow - this soup was awesome! I did make a few modifications - first I used about 3/4 - 1 cup of onions (onion lover), 1 1/2 tsp of bouillon and I used celery instead of broccoli. I had to add more water to the flour and butter because the onions soaked up most of the liquid. This recipe was so good that I plan to make it a staple in our home. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lansing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2003
This was wonderful! I added more broccoli - like 3 cups and about a half cup more of carrots. I made the simple whole wheat bread recipe to go with this. Such a good meal. I will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TAURUSGIRL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Midland, Texas, USA
Living In: Broken Arrow, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2003
One of my FAVORITES! Hearty & filling...perfect for a chilly day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STEFANY21
Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2003
Very good, but not quite the best i've ever tasted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DPMETZ

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Nalcrest, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 148) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Excellent Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make homemade broccoli cheese soup.

Cauliflower Soup with Blue Cheese Fritters

Earthy, comforting cauliflower soup is topped with light, cheesy fritters.

Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make quick-and-easy cheese soup with broccoli.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States