Wisconsin Cheese Soup II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2014
This soup is awesome! I made it just as written and I want to eat it all myself!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2014
A nice Cheese soup and I too like others, appreciate the fact that you use real cheese instead of many that call for Velveeta. I did keep to the recipe, but did add just a tad extra bit of water and I only had 1-3/4 cup of sharp cheddar so I subbed the rest with some mexican mix I had on hand. My daughter was hesitant about the carrots but really enjoyed them once she tried. The reason for the 4 was that I thought it was just a tad blander than I like. I also added some salt at the end. On my second bowl I added a pinch of thyme, that added a nice touch. Next time I might even try adding some pepper flakes, I just like to try and stay on the recipe with out changes the first time I try it so I can truly rate the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by keebdaisy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA
Reviewed: May 2, 2013
This recipe is great tasting as is, but I always try to find ways to make it healthier. I used half olive oil and half butter. It made a great rue. I also used whole wheat flour instead of white, and mozzarella cheese instead of cheddar. I would rather have the cheddar; the taste is better with cheddar, but my husband's heart will be happier with the mozzarella. I also used the "Better than Boullion" paste instead of granules for better flavor. I also used half skim and half coconut milk. Next time I will try all coconut milk, since the fat in coconut milk is much healthier than cow's milk. It took me about 45-60 min. to make, but was very easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2013
Four stars for simplicity, good consistency, and delicious flavour. It was very quick and easy, I'm typing this while eating a second bowlful, I cant wait to try the variations described in the reviews with celery, stronger cheese, and maybe even some bacon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2013
This recipe was ok. Not as good I thought it would be and I followed the recipe to a T. Except I used rice flour (Gluten free). I always feel like pre-shredded cheddar cheese is always grainy and not very smooth. Saving my left overs but will most likely not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bkolek

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Hartford, Iowa, USA
Living In: Raymond, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
Maybe this is just me (because we didn't grow up with broccoli cheese soup), but this was so rich that it was almost like eating a dip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2012
Family loved this. Just added some red pepper flakes with the onions. It was a little thick so I added some chicken broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by smross5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Underwood, Iowa, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2012
I made a few minor changes to this recipe: substituted shredded carrots for the sliced carrots, vegetable bouillon for the chicken bouillon, margarine for the butter, and soymilk for the milk. Delicious! Next time I'd double the recipe :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2012
This was delicious. I followed the recipe with the exception of adding some left over steamed cauliflower and substituting half of the cheddar for Velveeta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mountainburg, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Pine Bluff, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2012
Best cheese soup recipe I've used! Of course, I did alter it. I used the basic formula and just changed the veggies and cheeses to what I had on hand. For veggies I used celery, carrots and green beans simmered in vegetable broth. Instead of butter I used bacon fat and garlic olive oil. For cheese I used horseradish cheddar and Neufchatel cream cheese. At the end I gave it a sprinkle of dill and went heavier on the black pepper. Fantastic!!!! The texture is perfection.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 147) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Excellent Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make homemade broccoli cheese soup.

Cauliflower Soup with Blue Cheese Fritters

Earthy, comforting cauliflower soup is topped with light, cheesy fritters.

Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make quick-and-easy cheese soup with broccoli.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States