Wisconsin Cheese Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by StickySue
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2014
This was good. I didn't have cayenne pepper so I used crushed red pepper and it had just enough heat. It had good flavor. Paired it with a sandwich. Thanks, Happy Cooking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StickySue

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2014
This was a great soup for a rainy day! I loved this soup but I did modify it a little I used about 6 carrots and white mushrooms and it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
Very good soup. I substituted chopped red pepper for the green. The recipe didn't state what size onion, I used a medium and thought that was too much, so will used less next time I make it. Also added a bit extra cheese for an extra cheesier flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2011
I made this for the first time last night for my Bunco group, and it did not disappoint! I even forgot to add the salt & pepper and people still raved over it. LOL. I did substitute bacon for the ham but either way would have been wonderful. The vegetables came out so tender and the soup was so creamy and not clumpy/gritty at all, thanks to the instruction on when to add the cheese! Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2011
There is a restaurant near my house that serves a great Wisconsin cheese soup. My wife wants me to make one like it, this was not it. It was to bland for her and she loves bland food. There was not much of a cheese flavor. If I had the desire I think I could make this more to my taste, however, I think going with another recipe will be easier and ultimately better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bellevue, Washington, USA
Living In: West Valley City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2011
We all loved this soup. The kids all rated it 5000 stars. Made it exactly as the recipe stated, but was sure to chop everything very small, especially the green pepper so the kids wouldn't balk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
Were it not for the green pepper, I would have enjoyed this soup a lot more and rated it even higher. I like green pepper, but it was too prominent in what is a mild-flavored soup. I added 1/2 cup of Guiness Draught, but I don't think that necessarily made this any better - this soup would have been good with or without it. For the record, Hubs disagreed with me on the green pepper thing, even suggesting it only added to the "Green and Gold." (okaaaay...) To ensure the cheese doesn't curdle or separate, remove the soup from the heat before stirring it in, slowly and gradually.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
Must add a great beer (I used Honey Weiss) or pale ale to be a true Wisconsin cheese soup!!!! (substitute some of the chicken broth for the beer) Also, because of a corn allergy in our family I used 1 medium mashed potato with potato water and flour to help thicken and left out the cornstarch. I also substituted the milk for half and half. Higher calorie count but richer and heavier flavor like a Cheesehead would want it! Go Packers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tjohnsonwi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Holmen, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2010
I agree that this is like the original cheese soup that I have eaten in Wisconsin years ago, not like the thick soups served in restaurants. This soup has a light cheesy excellent taste. I have shared it with neighbors and all have raved about it. I will certainly make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EZAdams

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Canton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Perry, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2009
This was wonderful.....my family really thought it was great...even my 3 yr. old grandson who is a picky eater. I didn't put the mushrooms in and I substituted 1/2 cup of beer for 1/2 cup of the chicken broth. Otherwise I made it just like the recipe called for. This recipe is a keeper!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cauliflower Soup with Blue Cheese Fritters

Earthy, comforting cauliflower soup is topped with light, cheesy fritters.

Excellent Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make homemade broccoli cheese soup.

Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make quick-and-easy cheese soup with broccoli.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States