Wisconsin Bratwurst Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2010
Add bottle small catsup to the pot, when done grilling put in rye bread hoagie rolls and add sourkraut on top and deli mustarad. YUM!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alli

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2010
Made these for a tailgate and they were a hit. The key is to get the from a butcher. Store bought brats just won't cut it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2010
I don't eat brats but got some for my family and they said it was too much butter, so next time I will leave it out or not use as much. Good recipe overall!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lov2cook

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2010
I especially enjoyed the onions on top of the brats (not a sauerkraut fan).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Catherine VW

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pine Bluff, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2010
These were pretty good. I had 1.25 lbs of sausage and used 1 tall can of beer and a large onion. I did not poke the bratwurst. I thought they were pretty good, but my hubby loved them. I would have rated 3 stars, but since my hubby loved them so much, I gave an additional star. I think I prefer the pre cooked bratwurst myself, but then, I'm a californian...lol! No offense to you wisconsinites out there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by heybejay

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Grand Prairie, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2010
This was great! Even though I didn't have fresh Brats (used a Johnsonville beer brat), I was able to use a good lager and lots of onion!~ Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SCHUNN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Webster Groves, Missouri, USA
Living In: Saint Charles, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2010
As a German in Wisconsin, this is the only way to cook brats. Have been grilling them this way since I learned how to grill, and they're absolutely delicious. I have to say, though, that I don't prick my brats--the flavor of the beer is absorbed anyway and I've never had a brat explode.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dawnelaine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chippewa Falls, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2010
A Brat in Wisconsin is always good, but I have to agree with those against par-boiling. You wouldn't do that with anything else, why a brat? Slow cook on the grill and then place in a heated pot of beer and onions if you wish. That's especially handy if you want people to eat when they want to. They can stay on the stove for many hours in hot beer and onions and be just as good as right off the grill.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jim D.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2010
We grill the "hot and spicy" ones then simmer them in the beer and onions. Then serve with the onions and mustard. You can even use sauerkraut. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda Farrell

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Arnold, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2010
Always a wisconsin favorite! I like to boil the brats with sourkraut in it too. Now that is being a true Wisconsinite. It gives the kraut a little bit of flavor. And you have to have kraut on the bun with the brat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Belmont, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Benton, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 321) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Wisconsin Bratwurst

These classic brats are boiled in beer and onions and finished on the grill.

How to Grill Bratwurst

Discover the secret to grilling beautifully caramelized brats.

Bratwurst and Red Cabbage

What's cooking in Poulsbo, Wash.? Uli's famous sausage with braised cabbage.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States