Wisconsin Bratwurst Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2012
Deliciously flavorful. This recipe was such a success at our Labor Day gathering that people asked for the recipe. I wouldn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2012
We did reduce the amount of butter, beer and pepper to suit our family's taste. The end results were delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHERYL

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by SZYQ1
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2012
While these brats were good, I feel that I can only rate the recipe as 3 stars because I did not prick the bratwurst until they were on the grill. You will lose flavoring in the brats if you prick them in the boiling process. I also, melted the butter in the stock pot, added and sauteed the thinly sliced onion until the onions were tender. Then, added the links, and poured in 3 bottles of Leinenkugel Red Lager. Simmered for 20 minutes and finished them off on the grill. Note: After removing the brats from the liquid, I continued to simmer the onion/beer and after putting the brat in the brat/sausage bun, put some of the onions on top, and topped off the sausage with some spicy brown mustard. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lake Villa, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: May 22, 2012
These turned out fantastic. Just beery enough! I did not pierce the skins at all, and I cut the butter in half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gracietwin

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2012
The only change I would make is add about 1/4 brown sugar, it rounds out the beer flavor. Cook the onions until just soft in butter add the beer and sugar. Grill brats first, then add to heated marinage. These were my favorite made by my Grandmother that ran a bar and restaruant for years. It was the one thing that people would ask her to make for picnics. She would serve it from a nesco.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anna Ertl

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2012
Did mine crock-pot style: about 8 brats, 2 big cans of sauerkraut (drained), 1 onion chopped, 1 large bottle beer (we used Fat Tire) - Let it go for about 3-4 hours on High and then brown at the end (if desired for appearance) - made for a great sandwich!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lunastar1311

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2012
great recipe. i pull the onions out of the beer put them into another bowl with garlic spices. then let them marinade.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Photo by Rae
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2012
Great way to make brats. I saute onions and bell peppers to go with these.Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sierra Vista, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2012
Delish! Didn't add as much butter as called for (cut it to 1/4 c) and it was still fabulous. I also added a little bit of red pepper flakes, some ground pepper and a some thin slices of red and yellow mini peppers for some color. Boiled and then cooked on my grill pan on the stovetop. Will definitely make it again. Oh, yes, also - for sure serve the onions and beer sauce with the meal - my mouth is watering again just writing this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2012
I liked it as a fast dinner. I did boil down the beer, onions, and butter to make a topping. Next time, I would like to boil/grill the bratwurst, discard the remaining beer, and lightly fry the onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Displaying results 41-50 (of 328) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Wisconsin Bratwurst

These classic brats are boiled in beer and onions and finished on the grill.

How to Grill Bratwurst

Discover the secret to grilling beautifully caramelized brats.

Bratwurst and Red Cabbage

What's cooking in Poulsbo, Wash.? Uli's famous sausage with braised cabbage.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States