Wisconsin Bratwurst Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 18, 2013
Love this recipe. As a born and bred Wisconsin girl, I do know my brats and this is the real deal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pat

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Webster, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Prior Lake, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: May 18, 2013
Tried this, it was OK. Thought it was a sin in WI to prick your brats? Different from how I normally do it (grill then float in simmering beer), but not every one has the same tastes. If you're having a gathering, why not try several ways?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2013
I've been using this recipe for many years. The only difference is that I add some mustard to the boiling liquid and add beer with water to cover if needed and butter. Puncturing isn't necessary and doesn't appear to change the taste. After the grill add what you like but no bbq sauce. Thanks Jeff Smith.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2013
The best brats I've ever made! They came out delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2013
Smoky & moist. The butter created a lot of smoke on the grill, which gave the brats a fantastic smokey flavor. The prior simmering kept the brats moist inside & out, preventing a crisp skin - moistness & smokiness was preferable to crispness in the case of WholeFoods' store-made brats. I know because I tested 3 brats on the grill without simmering - dry! Also, I found that 1/4 c butter & 2 beers was fine for 3-1/2 lbs brats.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rhianna

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
My 1st attempt in cooking Brats and I thought this was pretty good. Followed the recipe as given.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2012
Deliciously flavorful. This recipe was such a success at our Labor Day gathering that people asked for the recipe. I wouldn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2012
We did reduce the amount of butter, beer and pepper to suit our family's taste. The end results were delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHERYL

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by SZYQ1
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2012
While these brats were good, I feel that I can only rate the recipe as 3 stars because I did not prick the bratwurst until they were on the grill. You will lose flavoring in the brats if you prick them in the boiling process. I also, melted the butter in the stock pot, added and sauteed the thinly sliced onion until the onions were tender. Then, added the links, and poured in 3 bottles of Leinenkugel Red Lager. Simmered for 20 minutes and finished them off on the grill. Note: After removing the brats from the liquid, I continued to simmer the onion/beer and after putting the brat in the brat/sausage bun, put some of the onions on top, and topped off the sausage with some spicy brown mustard. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lake Villa, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: May 22, 2012
These turned out fantastic. Just beery enough! I did not pierce the skins at all, and I cut the butter in half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gracietwin

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 314) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Grill Bratwurst

Discover the secret to grilling beautifully caramelized brats.

Bratwurst and Red Cabbage

What's cooking in Poulsbo, Wash.? Uli's famous sausage with braised cabbage.

How to Make Classic BBQ Ribs

Discover the Kansas City method for grilling fork-tender baby-back ribs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States