Wisconsin Bratwurst Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by tamzie
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2015
Since one of our church members served us her beer brats at a church BBQ, I've been looking for the recipe because she passed away before I could ask her the recipe. This was not her beer brat recipe but it was tasty and so much better than the other recipes with dark beer. The dark beer flavor was just too strong and I couldn't even eat the onions, but this one was so delicious and I wished I put more onions. It seems like people are divided whether they should grill the brats before or after and I never had a beer brat before the church BBQ, so I did both. I grilled first, put in the beer mixture and grilled again right before I put it on a hot dog bun. My remote town did not have any fancy bread except a regular… And no, I did not break the brats. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tamzie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2015
I added garlic to the beer mixture and it was better
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Galena, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2015
These brats were excellent! I followed the recipe exactly and they turned out so juicy and tasty. I served them at a casual supper for friends and family - everyone commented on how good they were. I just wish I'd made more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2015
Just grill the brats, put two side by side on a buttered Sheboygan Hard Roll (semmel roll) top with the works (mustard, pickles, onions, ketchup) and drink the beer cold. Keep them warm in a pot with an inch of beer on the bottom if they actually last that long. Simpler yet, after grilling, stick a wooden skewer in the end and eat a brat on a stick, straight off the grill!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2014
Turned out great, I ended up baking them with the onions after i boiled them since it was snowing outside though
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2014
I had a few brats in the freezer that needed to be used, so I made a scaled-down version. To the beer, I also added some chopped red and green peppers and garlic powder. It seems natural to want to poke the brats, but after reading reviews, I DID NOT POKE. I then pan-fried brats to brown (along with the onions and peppers). Brats were delicious, good texture and juicy. (Was that the fat that didn't come out? Whatever, they were great!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2014
Never tried adding butter, gives it a richer taste
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chris Mathis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Iuka, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2014
I pierced the brats. Came out great. Both times!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2014
They had no taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2014
Fantastic!! Super juicy & packed with flavor!! Yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cedar Lake, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 326) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Wisconsin Bratwurst

These classic brats are boiled in beer and onions and finished on the grill.

How to Grill Bratwurst

Discover the secret to grilling beautifully caramelized brats.

Bratwurst and Red Cabbage

What's cooking in Poulsbo, Wash.? Uli's famous sausage with braised cabbage.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States