Wisconsin Bratwurst Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 25, 2015
I gave this three stars because even I know how ridiculous it is to prick your brats. And they don't explode if you don't either. I'm guessing that I'm like a lot of people that don't have a sausage monger around the corner and are using Johnsonville or other readily available brat from the grocers. This recipe is a good start as is, sans the pricking. Made it as written (again, no poking) the first time. I think if you want to elevate this, change your choice of beer, buy artisan brats, etc. The beer and onion broth is great. Tonight we're going to simmer the brats in that liquid first, then grill, then place back in the pot until everyone is ready to eat. Just whatever you do, DON'T PIERCE YOUR BRATS. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allison Rutar

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2015
Yum! I usually use a combo of beer and beef boullion, rather than 6 beers. I use a dark beer so thinning it out with the stock helps stretch it. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sydney, Nova Scotia, Canada
Living In: Inuvik, Northwest Territories, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2015
I would agree that this is the only way to cook brats. The beer, butter and onions give it great flavor, while reducing the amount of time they have to be on the grill.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by tamzie
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2015
Since one of our church members served us her beer brats at a church BBQ, I've been looking for the recipe because she passed away before I could ask her the recipe. This was not her beer brat recipe but it was tasty and so much better than the other recipes with dark beer. The dark beer flavor was just too strong and I couldn't even eat the onions, but this one was so delicious and I wished I put more onions. It seems like people are divided whether they should grill the brats before or after and I never had a beer brat before the church BBQ, so I did both. I grilled first, put in the beer mixture and grilled again right before I put it on a hot dog bun. My remote town did not have any fancy bread except a regular… And no, I did not break the brats. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tamzie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2015
I added garlic to the beer mixture and it was better
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Galena, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2015
These brats were excellent! I followed the recipe exactly and they turned out so juicy and tasty. I served them at a casual supper for friends and family - everyone commented on how good they were. I just wish I'd made more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2014
Turned out great, I ended up baking them with the onions after i boiled them since it was snowing outside though
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2014
I had a few brats in the freezer that needed to be used, so I made a scaled-down version. To the beer, I also added some chopped red and green peppers and garlic powder. It seems natural to want to poke the brats, but after reading reviews, I DID NOT POKE. I then pan-fried brats to brown (along with the onions and peppers). Brats were delicious, good texture and juicy. (Was that the fat that didn't come out? Whatever, they were great!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2014
Never tried adding butter, gives it a richer taste
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chris Mathis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Iuka, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2014
I pierced the brats. Came out great. Both times!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 328) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Wisconsin Bratwurst

These classic brats are boiled in beer and onions and finished on the grill.

How to Grill Bratwurst

Discover the secret to grilling beautifully caramelized brats.

Bratwurst and Red Cabbage

What's cooking in Poulsbo, Wash.? Uli's famous sausage with braised cabbage.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States