Wisconsin Bratwurst Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2014
45 Bratwurst sat in hot beer for about an hour. Came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2014
Uts good to taste... Thanx
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2013
Loved by all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kim's Cooking Now!
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2013
I was born and raised in Wisconsin, and this is definitely how I remember brats as a kid! I used Johnsonville brats (as they are a WI company, and know their stuff when it comes to brats). I paired these with some Ore-Ida Zesties fries and a ramekin of baked beans. #notsohomesickanymore
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim's Cooking Now!

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Little Chute, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Kennesaw, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2013
I'm not a huge brat fan (my shameful secret, since I'm from Wisconsin), but my parents love them. I've tried it this way and it works well - I agree with the other comments that said not to poke them though. If you cook them slowly they won't explode, poking them dries them out and loses a lot of flavor. (Same thing with italian sausages - just like a steak, you want to cook them with the juices in and then let them cool before cutting them).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2013
Pretty good. very easy, as well. I had already smoked (read: cooked) sausage but did the recipe relatively the same. I decided I wanted peppers with this so in a separate pan browned the peppers until cooked, then added a little bit of the beer mixture along with the sausage and cooked it down with garlic until caramelized. Then I served on hoagie rolls with our respective preferred spreads (Dijon mustard for me, mayo for hubby). I really liked this with some salad for a filling meal. thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2013
We don't pre-cook the brat or poke with a fork - we want the juices in, not out! We ciook them slow so they don't "explode." We also put our brats on brat buns, not hoagie or hotdog buns.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2013
This is darn near the same recipe that the Columbus (WI) firemen use, which was introduced to our family 29 years ago by a true cheddarhead. The only difference is that one NEVER pokes the brat,and that they are put on hold back in the beer which does two things. 1) keeps them from drying out 2)infused more beer/onion flavor much like the famous chefs always tell you to season when the food is hot because it sucks in the flavor. I have never know the Brat to loose flavor this way as they never hang around that long! I think the main thing is a fresh Brat, not those nasty white things, not pre cooked! and perhaps some chopped raw onion & cheese for the top, what Wisconsinite forgets the cheese?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2013
I have cooked my brats using this method and they are wonderful. However, I live in MT and the brats available here do not taste like Wisconsin Brats. There is a certain spice and grind that are missing and frankly they suck. For those that don't know any better, they think they are grand. Thanks for one of the reviewer who recommended a website for ordering WI brats. Mmmmm, slurp! I can just taste them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaconda, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2013
Excellent! Made this many times and just now rating it. When I don't want to waste too much beer I use half chicken stock or even water and it still comes out great. Have also forgot to add the butter a couple times and still was great. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eating Indy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 314) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Grill Bratwurst

Discover the secret to grilling beautifully caramelized brats.

Bratwurst and Red Cabbage

What's cooking in Poulsbo, Wash.? Uli's famous sausage with braised cabbage.

How to Make Classic BBQ Ribs

Discover the Kansas City method for grilling fork-tender baby-back ribs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States