Wintertime French Style Split Pea Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2015
I made this just as written. The only thing we ended up tasting were the herbs. All the other flavors were lost.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2015
My husband does not like split pea soup. So I left out the split peas. I also used the turkey broth that I made and froze from Thanksgiving. This was soooo yummy and hearty! Great with a crusty bread. Husband, who normally doesn't like soup as a rule, are two bowls and then wanted it the next day for lunch! I don't give 5 stars without a reason. I can just imagine what it is like WITH the spit peas! mmmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2014
Made this recipe just as directed...added the ham, LOVED it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2014
This was a really tasty pea soup. I had a ham bone and some leftover slices to use up and I am really glad I found this recipe. I did add extra veggies to it (celery) and used better than bullion chicken instead of vegetable broth (I didn't have any vegetable broth on hand). It was very flavorful. Best split pea soup I ever made!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SueHoo

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lyman, Wyoming, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2014
This is a delicious soup - not your plain old pea soup. The herbs make the soup, and it is truly wonderful! I made this exactly by the recipe... but did not add the optional ham. Hearty and perfect, summer or winter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2014
5 stars for the BEST Split Pea Soup I've ever had...much better than the usual sticky stand-up-your-spoon-in-it variety...and definitely not just for Winter! I'm sure great as written, but here's what I did differently: in place of the onion, sauteed a full container of Trader Joe's Mirepoix (celery/carrots/onion) for a looong time, until the onions caramelized (the 2T oil was ample); used half yellow & half green split peas (because that's what I had); finally, when adding the last of the potatoes & carrots (to an almost full pot with no room for any ham), added 2 tsp. Smoked Paprika, 1 tsp. coarse salt, & one 14.5 oz. can chicken broth. With some buttered rye bread, it was a perfect meal...can't wait for lunch tomorrow. Thanks, Jan :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Algonquin, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2013
This one is a winner! The secret ingredient is really the turmeric. I used to be the only person in my family who loved pea soup until this recipe came along. It's definitely my favorite version, and the only one I make now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ilovemykids

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grandville, Michigan, USA
Living In: Sioux Center, Iowa, USA
Photo by Scubies Dad
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2013
Nice recipe. I did like the Turmeric and Cayenne as part of the color and kick it needs to make it special. I also like the idea of keeping it "rustic" by keeping some of the carrots and other ingredients added later for some texture. I did add some pork for a bit more salt. Will definitely make this one again. I will probably add a more substantial pork bone next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scubies Dad

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2013
this was wonderful! i used curry powder in place of the turmeric and a no-salt blend in place of the herbes de provence, just due to what i had on hand in my pantry...it might seem like a lot of liquid, but the way the potato and peas break down into it thicken it so much that without the high liquid content, it would get too thick and scorch. have made it twice now and look forward to making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Huntsville, Alabama, USA
Living In: Hazel Green, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
OK, you had me at "French". And "herbes de Provence". Not to mention the tumeric. I love split pea soup, and this did not disappoint. I prepared as written with the exception of using two medium sized potatoes, peeled and diced, and about half of the carrots called for. I added them in after the boil down to simmer, and just let it go for a hour and a half. Delicious. Perhaps not as "hearty" as the submitter intended, but excellent none the less!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Saveur

Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Split Pea Soup with Rosemary

See how to make a simple, savory, and budget-friendly split pea soup.

Split Pea Soup

See how to make hearty split pea soup from scratch.

Split Pea and Ham Soup I

This delicious split pea soup takes only a few minutes to prepare.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States