Wintertime French Style Split Pea Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
OK, you had me at "French". And "herbes de Provence". Not to mention the tumeric. I love split pea soup, and this did not disappoint. I prepared as written with the exception of using two medium sized potatoes, peeled and diced, and about half of the carrots called for. I added them in after the boil down to simmer, and just let it go for a hour and a half. Delicious. Perhaps not as "hearty" as the submitter intended, but excellent none the less!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Saveur
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2014
This was a really tasty pea soup. I had a ham bone and some leftover slices to use up and I am really glad I found this recipe. I did add extra veggies to it (celery) and used better than bullion chicken instead of vegetable broth (I didn't have any vegetable broth on hand). It was very flavorful. Best split pea soup I ever made!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SueHoo

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lyman, Wyoming, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2014
This is a delicious soup - not your plain old pea soup. The herbs make the soup, and it is truly wonderful! I made this exactly by the recipe... but did not add the optional ham. Hearty and perfect, summer or winter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2014
5 stars for the BEST Split Pea Soup I've ever had...much better than the usual sticky stand-up-your-spoon-in-it variety...and definitely not just for Winter! I'm sure great as written, but here's what I did differently: in place of the onion, sauteed a full container of Trader Joe's Mirepoix (celery/carrots/onion) for a looong time, until the onions caramelized (the 2T oil was ample); used half yellow & half green split peas (because that's what I had); finally, when adding the last of the potatoes & carrots (to an almost full pot with no room for any ham), added 2 tsp. Smoked Paprika, 1 tsp. coarse salt, & one 14.5 oz. can chicken broth. With some buttered rye bread, it was a perfect meal...can't wait for lunch tomorrow. Thanks, Jan :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Algonquin, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2013
This one is a winner! The secret ingredient is really the turmeric. I used to be the only person in my family who loved pea soup until this recipe came along. It's definitely my favorite version, and the only one I make now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ilovemykids

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grandville, Michigan, USA
Living In: Sioux Center, Iowa, USA
Photo by Scubies Dad
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2013
Nice recipe. I did like the Turmeric and Cayenne as part of the color and kick it needs to make it special. I also like the idea of keeping it "rustic" by keeping some of the carrots and other ingredients added later for some texture. I did add some pork for a bit more salt. Will definitely make this one again. I will probably add a more substantial pork bone next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scubies Dad

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2013
this was wonderful! i used curry powder in place of the turmeric and a no-salt blend in place of the herbes de provence, just due to what i had on hand in my pantry...it might seem like a lot of liquid, but the way the potato and peas break down into it thicken it so much that without the high liquid content, it would get too thick and scorch. have made it twice now and look forward to making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Huntsville, Alabama, USA
Living In: Hazel Green, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mis7up
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2013
The soup may not be the prettiest bella at the ball, but it was well worth the work. It did take longer to get the peas to soften but the overall flavor was really nice, DO add the ham...it adds soo much richness to the dish. And ignore the not soo appealing color from the turmeric....it's still good. And I had to use russet potatoes because my store was out of new potatoes but otherwise, didn't change a thing but would suggest adding a pinch of salt. Everyone in my house enjoyed it, and I mean everyone. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mis7up

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burkburnett, Texas, USA
Living In: Cave Junction, Oregon, USA


 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Split Pea Soup with Rosemary

See how to make a simple, savory, and budget-friendly split pea soup.

Ham and Split Pea Soup

See an easy recipe for making split pea soup.

Split Pea Soup

See how to make hearty split pea soup from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States