Winter Vegetable Hash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
Very good! I think the cooking time is too long though, because my potatoes and squash were mushy and sticky. Next time I will cut bigger pieces and/or cook less. Great flavor with the sage, though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
Two tips. One, if you're using a whole acorn squash, take the time to peel it really well. Bits of peel are very fibrous. Two, you should barely stir this once the bulk of the ingredients are added. It will brown if you stir it infrequently, which adds great flavor. Otherwise, you may as well steam it. Cast iron is your friend for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2012
Very good. I find it odd when people change recipes so much that they aren't recognized as the Same one Like adding salty things to a low salt recipe or meat to a meat less one. This one does invite change to the Vegetables. Hash does suggest using what you have I did add an egg to my portion. I remember making hash with left over pot roast and always stirring in an egg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marion, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2012
I have made this recipe a couple of times and it was a hit both times! My husband who requires meat with every meal was satified with it both as a main course and side dish. Including some shiitake mushrooms really contributes to the flavor. When I cannot find a good price on shiitake mushrooms I will prepare the recipe with half shiitake and half baby bella. It is good both ways. When I cooked it, the acorn squash lost some of its structure. The hash still had a good texture (NOT mushy) and was quite moist as a result. Will continue to make this veggie delight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2012
I don't get it. I wanted to love this; it's so different from my other meals. But really, something is just missing. It isn't BAD by any means, but just so blehh compared to the fawning reviews I read.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2012
I loved this! I put in a lot more kale and cooked everything together apart from the mushrooms, which I put in towards the end. I omitted the red bell pepper as I'm not a fan of cooked peppers, otherwise I kept true to the recipe. I did cook it a lot longer than mentioned - kale in my view needs quite a bit of cooking. This was a hearty, delicious meal and I will be making this again and again! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Highlands Ranch, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2012
I was looking for a recipe to use kale... EVERYONE in my family liked this, even the 4, 5 and 9 year olds!! I did a few things differently based on what I had (no bell pepper, onion instead of shallot). SOOO GOOD!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2012
I thought it was very good. Husband can't get past the "no meat" thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2012
My family loves this and I can even get my 3 year old to eat it...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
This was really good and my kids liked it too. I used fresh garlic (about 4 cloves) and ground sage since I didn't have any fresh. I also doubled the amount of kale.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 150) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grilled Mediterranean Vegetable Sandwich

See how to make a roasted eggplant and portobello mushroom sandwich.

Cheesy Vegetable Lasagna

See how to make a cheesy, saucy vegetarian lasagna that’s loaded with veggies.

Easy Vegetable Pot Pie

All you need are a few minutes to prepare this simple veggie pot pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States