Winter Vegetable Hash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2008
I made this recipe as written and I thought it was very bland. I even added extra salt, pepper, and spices and chicken broth but none of it helped.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2007
I brought this dish to Thanksgiving dinner, and it was a huge hit. I substituted sweet potatoes for the Yukon Gold potatoes, and the colors were beautiful. Even vegetable-haters loved them. Several people have asked for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2007
I was a little skeptical at first, but pleasantly surprised. Even my vegetable (especially squash and greens) hating husband and toddler loved this. I couldn't believe it. I also made it for a Holiday dinner and everyone loved it. Thought it was a great alternative to mashed potatoes plus it is very festive looking. I make this over and over. Best tip is to make sure you use Yukon Gold Potatoes, they make all the difference. *** I just made this (again) and put polish sausage chopped up and used a mixture of fresh and the powdered garlic. AMAZING! My one and five year old and husband ate all their dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2007
I tweaked the dish based on what ingredients I had (bella mushrooms, butternut squah and green beans) and loved it. Obviously a very versatile recipe, and why I gave it five stars. Love the shallot/garlic combo. I also found that the winter squah is easier to peel and dice if you first cut it in half and cook it in a 400-degree oven on a greased cookie sheet for about 5 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Trumbull, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2007
Wow! I have never had kale before, but, even so I knew I wouldn't like it. Also, my first time ever using a shallot. The only reason I made this dish is I got some kale in my csa box. Very pleasantly surprised at how good it is. I had all the veggies except for a red bell, but, my csa box gave me a red onion, so I used that and kept everything else the same. If you've never had kale, I suggest you try this dish--it is very tasty. Oh yes, for the squash. Obviously you can't peel a squash, so what I did cut in half lengthwise with the help of a rubber mallet, then cut in halves. From there, I diced, and then cut the skin off of each dice individually. Don't make the pieces to big. Enjoy-thanks Rebecca!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2007
I really love this Hash, it's so perfect for the winter. I live in NY, and you need lots of calories when you do all of your travel by foot and train. Anyway, I added veggy soup broth in the mix to help the veggies from sticking. I also used a chopped up portobello mushroom. It only took me 20 minutes for alll of the veggies to be cooked on my gas stove. I will fix this over and over again. Tawnya
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2007
this is a lovely accompant to any meal....i didnt use mushrooms or the pepper because my husband doesnt like them...i also added 2 tablespoons of balsamic vinigar and 2 tablespoons or worstersire sauce,at the end i sprinkled with cheese and baked for 10 mins served with haddock...my 2 year old little boy loved it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2007
I didn't have all the ingredients for this dish so I just cooked the potatoes as directed with shallots, seasoned with salt, pepper and garlic powder and added the kale in the last 5 min. It was terrific and since it was a much simpler dish, my kids agreed to try it! Next time I'll try the whole recipe, but this was a good modification.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2007
Because I had all the ingredients on hand except for shallots, I used regualr onions and seasoned it up with a touch of chili powder and oregano just for a bit more flavor. Original recipe was fantastic, just wanted to spice it up. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Inky

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Levittown, New York, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2007
This dish was absolutely delicious. My family are skeptical about trying new dishes but to their surprise they really enjoyed this dish. I did not include the mushroom or the kale in this dish. Hopefully, the next time I make this dish the grocery store will have kale in stock.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 151) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Grilled Mediterranean Vegetable Sandwich

See how to make a roasted eggplant and portobello mushroom sandwich.

Cheesy Vegetable Lasagna

See how to make a cheesy, saucy vegetarian lasagna that’s loaded with veggies.

Easy Vegetable Pot Pie

All you need are a few minutes to prepare this simple veggie pot pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States