Winter Vegetable Hash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2009
The potatoes weren't quite tender enough after 25 minutes. So after adding the kale and sage, I put the top on the skillet while cooking the remaining 5 minutes. This was a quick dish. Tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Plaquemine, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2009
I added a bit of roasted chicken to this at the end and called it a meal. Everyone loved it, and it made the house smell fantastic! I did cover during much of the cook time, and it took about 15 minutes to cook through.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2009
I don't think I've ever rated a recipe 3 before. if I don't like the ingredients, I don’t make it. This recipe states 15 minutes prep time. I don't think Martha Stewart and a room full of assistants could peel, and dice an acorn squash, a pound of yukon potatoes, 8 oz of mushrooms, a cup of kale, a bell pepper and finely dice a shallot -- in 15 minutes. Seriously? No Way. I'm pretty efficient when it comes to dicing, but I was making this dish for a dinner group at 5:00 p.m. and I began shortly after 2:00 p.m. If my husband had not joined me and worked side by side for 45 minutes, there is no way it would have been ready. There was no instruction on how to peel an acorn squash- so I’ll add that I scrub the squash well, prick holes in it like you would a baked potato, then microwave it for about 3 minutes. Then it is soft enough to peel. Once you peel, you can slice then dice. I also saw no instructions on what to do with or when to add the sage. How much is a “Sprig” of fresh sage? I took 4 nice sized leaves and cut in small pieces with kitchen shears. It was not nearly enough to taste. The flavor seemed very bland, and even with additional olive oil and butter, it kept sticking, so I did as another reviewer suggested and added 2 chicken bouillon cubes to one cup of water and it finally began to have some flavor. If you really like these ingredients, please try the recipe, just know it will take a lot longer than 15 minutes to prepare. For me, the end result was not worth the
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2008
This was delicious. We used mustard greens instead of kale. The shitake mushrooms were great- be prepared though, they are expensive. I kept eating this, so healthy and flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2008
Yummy! This turned out fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2008
very good and healthy, my first time ever using acorn squash and second ever time using kale. It was a little bland for my taste, I added feta cheese on top and that helped for the most part.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lillaurabean

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winlock, Washington, USA
Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2008
This was a really great recipe, with lots of room to play around. I used one butternut squash and one acorn squash. I also used one yukon gold potato, one red potatoe, and one sweet potato. I did find the shitake mushrooms a bit expensive, so I used half those and half baby bella mushrooms. We had some parsley and onion leftover from the fish we made with the hash, so I threw that in, too. I found that I had to add a lot of water to the veggies while cooking to keep them from sticking, but other than that, the recipe worked just fine. The hash was pretty tasty when we ate it the first night. The second day, I had some leftovers with dinner, and it tasted way better after having been refrigerated. The third day, I threw in a handful of dried cranberries, and it was HEAVENLY. My bottom line suggestion is definitely to double this recipe and, if you can, make it the day before and refrigerate overnight. It really makes the flavors meld wonderfully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2008
This was really excellent. I added more sage and kale. I also only used half the shitake mushrooms and substituted cremini mushrooms for the rest. It still came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth P

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2008
Very good. Made recipe as stated. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Reston, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2008
This is one of the best, easiest hash recipes I’ve made—absolutely delicious! I had a butternut squash from the CSA, so I used that, plus purple potatoes, so it was very pretty. I didn’t think the potatoes and squash would cook in 25 minutes in the skillet, so I added 1/4c veg broth, covered the skillet, and simmered for about 10 min. while I was chopping the other veggies. Next time, I’ll add a bit more sage. This is a new favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KymInNM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Central Point, Oregon, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 157) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Grilled Mediterranean Vegetable Sandwich

See how to make a roasted eggplant and portobello mushroom sandwich.

Cheesy Vegetable Lasagna

See how to make a cheesy, saucy vegetarian lasagna that’s loaded with veggies.

Indian Vegetable Bhaji

A spicy Indian dry curry with potatoes, cauliflower, carrots, and peas.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States