Winter Vegetable Hash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2014
I wasn't thrilled with this recipe, but maybe that's because I halved the olive oil and butter. I think five tablespoons of fat is too much for a recipe that makes only six servings. But considering the other reviews, the butter and oil must be making this dish worthwhile. The only other changes I made were using button mushrooms instead of shitake and chopped swiss chard instead of kale (all what I had on hand). This dish looked really good in the skillet, but was quite bland like other reviewers have mentioned. I just don't see the point of making this again and don't intend to try it with additional seasoning. Life's too short. The butter and oil are clearly the stars of this dish and, if I want to eat tons of fat, I can just make cookies. As for peeling the acorn squash, with a good peeler, it's actually not that bad. I hadn't done it before either, but found a few videos online. Just cut the squash in half, scoop out the seeds, cut the halves into wedges, and then peel the wedges. I even left little bits of peel in the hard-to-peel grooves of the squash and didn't notice them at all when eating the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elkhorn, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2014
If I make this again, I think I will add an apple. It is kind of labor intensive for one person.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Manassas, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2014
I like the recipe but I think you mean winter squash, not acorn squash. I can't imagine dicing acorn squash unless it is first baked but then it would be too soft to fry with the other ingredients. Also, I found it very bland and intend to add diced ham next time I cook it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2014
My prep time was longer than the 35 min. listed, but I'm not a cutting and slicing machine either. Finally found a receipe to use the fresh Sage from my herb garden. The finished dish looks great, smell great,and full of flavor. Perfect for using winter vegetables. While Kale and Sage were melding into the dish in the last five minutes. I seared two fillets of Sockeyed Salmon Cagun Style on the grill. Can't wait to share it with a family gathering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2014
This was yum!! and I did it the easy way! Instead of chopping everything by hand I used my mini food processor so some of the veggies were a little smaller. I did chop the spinach (instead of kale), used a yellow onion instead of shallot and regular mushrooms instead of shiitake - because I had them available. Threw all the veggies in a large bowl, whisked together 5 tbsp of the olive oil (instead of using the butter), 3/4 tsp salt, 1/4 tsp pepper, the garlic powder and used sage spice (I had in my cabinet) about 1/2 tsp - poured the mixture over the veggies, mixed everything up, put it in my stoneware dish and baked it uncovered for about 45 min at about 375. I came out absolutely yummy!! I was actually surprised at how good it was:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2014
Basically, you can use any veggie you want, like using up leftovers...don't want to deal with peeling acorn squash, then don't. Use cut up carrots or parsnips or butternut squash, this recipe doesn't have to be so rigid. Add flavorings to your liking, and a 'pinch' of salt is not enough! You need salt to bring the flavors together, to taste. Usually a splash of chicken broth, which has salt, brings it together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Shirley, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Morten Vitved
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2014
Good hearty meal. 2 servings per person is plenty food. We substituted the Acorn Squash with ordinary Squash and it was still good. We also had a couple of soy sausages on the side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Morten Vitved

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2014
I followed the recipe but found it rather blah. I wasn't able to get Shitake mushrooms so I used regular white. Maybe that had a big effect on the flavor. Recipe didn't say to peel the acorn squash which was a mistake. If I ever made this again I would use butternut squash instead. Also needs more seasonings!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2014
Yum! This was super delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2014
My daughter and I are always looking for new vegetarian recipes and this one looked intruiging. It definitely takes some time to chop everything, so I do prep earlier than dinner.I used fresh garlic pressed instead of powder and regular sliced mushrooms due to cost. I had never cooked kale before but liked it and will double the amount next time and it doesn't hurt to put it in near the beginning if you like it tender.Peppers were omitted. Some people asked about how much sage? I used 4 good sized leaves snipped small and thought that was a good amount.I really felt the cooking time was understated, 45min was to my liking. The finished dish was warm and satisfying on a cold night and my daughter and I put it on our "have again" list!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vegiewings

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 157) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Grilled Mediterranean Vegetable Sandwich

See how to make a roasted eggplant and portobello mushroom sandwich.

Cheesy Vegetable Lasagna

See how to make a cheesy, saucy vegetarian lasagna that’s loaded with veggies.

Easy Vegetable Pot Pie

All you need are a few minutes to prepare this simple veggie pot pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States