Winter Vegetable Hash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2007
Deliciously healthy comfort food! Of course, it helps that you like all the vegetables on their own! I substituted butternut squash for the acorn squash and added dried crushed sage leaves instead. Like others, I could definately finish a whole lot of this at a time. Based on other reviewers' suggestions, I cooked the potato and onion alone for 10 minutes, then added the squash, mushroom, and bell pepper and cooked for an additional 10 minutes. Finally, I added the remaining vegetable and cooked the final 5 minutes. So good! A keeper of a recipe and a great starting point for making your own vegetable hash recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
95 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2006
I thought this was very good. I used a mix of regular and shitake mushrooms because the shitake mushrooms were so expensive. I have to say that the shitake mushrooms give it a much more interesting flavor. I will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2007
I added the kale at the beginning, along with the potatoes and the squash. 5 minutes is not nearly enough to wilt kale in my experience: it can stand as much cooking as the potatoes. The diced red pepper, on the other hand, I withheld until the last five minutes or so. I substituted some of the giant puffball Kathy Turner gave us for the shitakes, and a leek for the shallot; added some frozen "meat"balls (my wife's vegetarian)for protein's sake; and I served this, with some grated cheese to go on top, as a main dish. Delish! This is an amazing festive autumn treat even without the giant puffball. In fact, we enjoyed this so much that I'm cooking it again tonight (for the second night running). Still some giant puffball left, but this time I'll substitue fish sausage (she's a pesce-vegetarian) for the "meat"balls, and adding Kathy's green beans to the melange.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2006
I found this good, but a bit bland. I added a little soy sauce to pick up the flavor. Next time I make it, I would use only half of the potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2006
This is fantastic! The flavors of all the veggies go so well together. It's very savory and satisfying. Make sure you cut up the kale in small pieces for easier eating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2006
WOW!!! This is delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chelsea

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Campbell River, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2007
My whole family, including two teenagers, loved this recipe. They were snubbing it while I was making it, but when dinner was over, there wasn't a morsel left. I served it with grilled fish and a green salad. It is definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marlborough, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Carrollton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2006
Wonderful dish! Very refreshing and something I can eat again and again. Perfect for Vegans! Very versatile - can add or subsitute many different kinds of squash,etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2006
This recipe is delicious. I made it as a side dish with a boneless ribeye roast and it was great. This is one I will make over and over again. I would definitely due the chopping of the vegetables ahead of time it is a lot of chopping , but well worth the effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Randolph, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: North Andover, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2006
Absolutely delicious, a wonderful recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 150) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grilled Mediterranean Vegetable Sandwich

See how to make a roasted eggplant and portobello mushroom sandwich.

Cheesy Vegetable Lasagna

See how to make a cheesy, saucy vegetarian lasagna that’s loaded with veggies.

Easy Vegetable Pot Pie

All you need are a few minutes to prepare this simple veggie pot pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States