Winter Vegetable Hash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2013
This was REALLY good!! I don't have a skillet big enough to cook this in so I put it all in a large baking dish at 475 degrees for 25 min and then added the kale to the top for and cooked another 5-10 minutes. It was amazing and much easier than cooking on the stove. I used all olive oil (no butter) to make it healthier. I didn't have a shallot so I used a chopped red onion instead. I used 4 cloves of fresh minced garlic instead of garlic powder. I made this a second time for guests and everyone loved it! I added sweet potatoes for half of the potatoes, about 1/2 tsp of salt and 1/2 tsp of pepper instead of a pinch and 2 cups kale. This will be a regular recipe for us!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2013
A tremendous and tremendously simple dish (made all the more tremendous by its very simplicity). Like others, I added about a tablespoon of Worcestershire sauce, a few shakes of cayenne and a little soy sauce. Also went heavy on the sage and added some sauteed ground beef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by brooklynsurecooks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Topsfield, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
This tastes as good as it looks. Just the thing to perk up a cold winter's night!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2013
I really enjoyed this recipe. It really reminded me of a dish prepared by a friend from India. I added 1 Tbs. Curry Powder, 1 tsp. Garam Marsala, 1 tsp. Ginger Paste, 5 whole cloves and 5 Cardamom pods for a nice twist. When melting the butter into the oil on a low temp add the spices to release their best flavor and follow the regular recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2013
This was one of the best veggie recipes I have ever had! I have been looking for a good recipe for when people come over and I finally found one. I think the squash is what truly gave it flavor. I accidentaly over cooked it a bit so it was a bit mushy. The sweet flavor rubbed off on the other veggies. I used the club house garlic plus seasoning instead of the garlic powder and just put a little bit of salt and pepper. Also added a little bit of cayenne pepper and used a pinch of dry sage instead of fresh. So delicious and worth the chopping and peeling!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmundston, New Brunswick, Canada
Living In: Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2013
This was a little dry compared to what I was hoping/expecting, but it was pretty good and definitely healthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2013
Very good. I used dried sage as I had it on hand, also used onion instead of shallot for same reason. It is a good basic recipe that allows for experimentation--next time! Added bonus: with the leftover kale I put the kale leaves on cookie sheet, sprinkled with a bit of salt and garlic powder, and baked at 350 for about 15 min to make kale chips--yum! Thanks for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol Ann Rabolt
Home Town: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2013
This was terrific! I did do some changes, I used a red onion, and a zucchini and viola!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stacie Bonner

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hornbeck, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2013
This was fabulous. I can't see how people thought it was bland. I did as others suggested and cooked the potatoes and shallots first and then as I chopped all other veggies I added them. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2013
This is a great hash recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dezzie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 162) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Grilled Mediterranean Vegetable Sandwich

See how to make a roasted eggplant and portobello mushroom sandwich.

Cheesy Vegetable Lasagna

See how to make a cheesy, saucy vegetarian lasagna that’s loaded with veggies.

Marrakesh Vegetable Curry

This meal is bursting with exotic, rich flavors, and is very easy to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States