Winter Vegetable Hash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
Fantastic. Thinking I am going to add to my thanksgiving day menu. Accidently used savory and did not have sage. I also added poultry seasoning. I am sure the recipe is good as written, but it was so good I am not sure I'll try it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2013
Adding a poached egg over the top, and sprinkling on salt and pepper, are ideas straight from a restaurant that make this dish an even better meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2013
Just made this and have already "tasted " it many times. It really is good. I used russet potatoes because I had some on hand that needed to be used and portabello mushrooms because that's what there was at the store. Also used dried sage. I'm pretty sure prep time was more like 30 minutes, those acorn squash are a pain to dice. Well worth the effort, though. It would be easy to add a little more protein by adding some sort of meat or even cheese, but it is great as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2013
This was a pretty good recipe. My husband made it, and everyone who had it really enjoyed again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EROCK101

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2013
This was really delicious. Even though ihad to substitute dried ground sage for fresh the first time :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2013
very good. I only used 1/8 c. olive oil and 8 oz. of sausage. Added a handful of spinach that I chopped. Wouldn't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tipton, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2013
My husband is more picky about what he eats than my three-year-old is, so I wasn't expecting to wow him with the acorn squash and kale. I'm trying to help my guy eat a little healthier, though, and I thought this twist on a traditional hash might be a good halfway point. I was happily surprised when he went back for seconds and kept raving about how delicious it was. I went with previous reviews and cooked the potatoes and onion for about ten minutes before adding the other veggies. Now that I'm feeling dangerous I think I'll try doubling the kale next time. ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2013
Good when a little crispy and served over quinoa
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2013
This was REALLY good!! I don't have a skillet big enough to cook this in so I put it all in a large baking dish at 475 degrees for 25 min and then added the kale to the top for and cooked another 5-10 minutes. It was amazing and much easier than cooking on the stove. I used all olive oil (no butter) to make it healthier. I didn't have a shallot so I used a chopped red onion instead. I used 4 cloves of fresh minced garlic instead of garlic powder. I made this a second time for guests and everyone loved it! I added sweet potatoes for half of the potatoes, about 1/2 tsp of salt and 1/2 tsp of pepper instead of a pinch and 2 cups kale. This will be a regular recipe for us!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2013
A tremendous and tremendously simple dish (made all the more tremendous by its very simplicity). Like others, I added about a tablespoon of Worcestershire sauce, a few shakes of cayenne and a little soy sauce. Also went heavy on the sage and added some sauteed ground beef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by brooklynsurecooks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Topsfield, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 160) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Grilled Mediterranean Vegetable Sandwich

See how to make a roasted eggplant and portobello mushroom sandwich.

Cheesy Vegetable Lasagna

See how to make a cheesy, saucy vegetarian lasagna that’s loaded with veggies.

Marrakesh Vegetable Curry

This meal is bursting with exotic, rich flavors, and is very easy to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States