Winter Vegetable Hash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2007
I brought this dish to Thanksgiving dinner, and it was a huge hit. I substituted sweet potatoes for the Yukon Gold potatoes, and the colors were beautiful. Even vegetable-haters loved them. Several people have asked for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2007
I was a little skeptical at first, but pleasantly surprised. Even my vegetable (especially squash and greens) hating husband and toddler loved this. I couldn't believe it. I also made it for a Holiday dinner and everyone loved it. Thought it was a great alternative to mashed potatoes plus it is very festive looking. I make this over and over. Best tip is to make sure you use Yukon Gold Potatoes, they make all the difference. *** I just made this (again) and put polish sausage chopped up and used a mixture of fresh and the powdered garlic. AMAZING! My one and five year old and husband ate all their dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2007
I tweaked the dish based on what ingredients I had (bella mushrooms, butternut squah and green beans) and loved it. Obviously a very versatile recipe, and why I gave it five stars. Love the shallot/garlic combo. I also found that the winter squah is easier to peel and dice if you first cut it in half and cook it in a 400-degree oven on a greased cookie sheet for about 5 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Trumbull, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2007
Wow! I have never had kale before, but, even so I knew I wouldn't like it. Also, my first time ever using a shallot. The only reason I made this dish is I got some kale in my csa box. Very pleasantly surprised at how good it is. I had all the veggies except for a red bell, but, my csa box gave me a red onion, so I used that and kept everything else the same. If you've never had kale, I suggest you try this dish--it is very tasty. Oh yes, for the squash. Obviously you can't peel a squash, so what I did cut in half lengthwise with the help of a rubber mallet, then cut in halves. From there, I diced, and then cut the skin off of each dice individually. Don't make the pieces to big. Enjoy-thanks Rebecca!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2007
I really love this Hash, it's so perfect for the winter. I live in NY, and you need lots of calories when you do all of your travel by foot and train. Anyway, I added veggy soup broth in the mix to help the veggies from sticking. I also used a chopped up portobello mushroom. It only took me 20 minutes for alll of the veggies to be cooked on my gas stove. I will fix this over and over again. Tawnya
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2007
this is a lovely accompant to any meal....i didnt use mushrooms or the pepper because my husband doesnt like them...i also added 2 tablespoons of balsamic vinigar and 2 tablespoons or worstersire sauce,at the end i sprinkled with cheese and baked for 10 mins served with haddock...my 2 year old little boy loved it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2007
I didn't have all the ingredients for this dish so I just cooked the potatoes as directed with shallots, seasoned with salt, pepper and garlic powder and added the kale in the last 5 min. It was terrific and since it was a much simpler dish, my kids agreed to try it! Next time I'll try the whole recipe, but this was a good modification.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2007
Because I had all the ingredients on hand except for shallots, I used regualr onions and seasoned it up with a touch of chili powder and oregano just for a bit more flavor. Original recipe was fantastic, just wanted to spice it up. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Inky

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Levittown, New York, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2007
This dish was absolutely delicious. My family are skeptical about trying new dishes but to their surprise they really enjoyed this dish. I did not include the mushroom or the kale in this dish. Hopefully, the next time I make this dish the grocery store will have kale in stock.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2007
This was awesome! I used dried shiitakes, rehydrated according to package directions, and added in during the last 5 minutes of cooking. Turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lil deb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grand Canyon, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 150) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grilled Mediterranean Vegetable Sandwich

See how to make a roasted eggplant and portobello mushroom sandwich.

Cheesy Vegetable Lasagna

See how to make a cheesy, saucy vegetarian lasagna that’s loaded with veggies.

Easy Vegetable Pot Pie

All you need are a few minutes to prepare this simple veggie pot pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States