Winter Vegetable Hash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2008
This was really excellent. I added more sage and kale. I also only used half the shitake mushrooms and substituted cremini mushrooms for the rest. It still came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth P

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2008
Very good. Made recipe as stated. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Reston, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2008
This is one of the best, easiest hash recipes I’ve made—absolutely delicious! I had a butternut squash from the CSA, so I used that, plus purple potatoes, so it was very pretty. I didn’t think the potatoes and squash would cook in 25 minutes in the skillet, so I added 1/4c veg broth, covered the skillet, and simmered for about 10 min. while I was chopping the other veggies. Next time, I’ll add a bit more sage. This is a new favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KymInNM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Central Point, Oregon, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2008
This is such a yummy recipe! I made it as is the first time and loved it, but thought I'd change it up a little the next time to see if my kids would love it more. I didn't want to buy 5 pounds of Yukon Gold potatoes so I used some red, some white, and some sweet potatoes. I also tried it with spinach instead of kale. It was even yummier the second time I made it with those changes. Having the sweet potatoes with the acorn squash made such a sweet taste to it- great! And I love that it's so healthy too. My kids did like it better with the changes. I'm heading to the pumpkin patch right now and will probably pick up some more acorn squash to use in it the next time I make it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2008
I am so happy to find this recipe! And my tummy is too! It's sweet and salty and savory and has all sorts of flavors going for it. I had some anise that I needed to do something with so I cooked it in too, but it didn't add any flavor I don't think. We didn't have any good shallots at the market, so I added onion. The fresh sage really makes this sing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2008
Almost didn't make this. Scared by some of the reviews. Different strokes for different folks I guess. We loved it. The only thing I changed was adding 1 tsp minced garlic. I put some shredded Jack cheese over the top of my meat eaters plates. All family members enjoyed this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gina

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pink, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Beloit, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2008
This was very good and enjoyed by the whole family. Both vegetarians and omnivores found it filling and flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Katy, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2008
This was really mushy and soggy, and I only cooked it for 15 minutes! It was also really bland. I made it with some lemon pepper cod (which was delicious), but none of us ate the veggie hash. Well, except for my 7 month old. He LOVED it!! Summary: good baby food, not good adult food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Batesville, Indiana, USA
Living In: Cambridge, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2008
This was really delicious. Like some of the other reviewers I used sweet potatoes instead of white. I used fresh baby spinach instead of kale sine that is what we like and I had on hand. At the end I did take someone elses advice and added a little Worcestershire sauce and a little balsamic vinegar. I have made it twice so far, and it is deffinately a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Panama City Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2008
I made this recipe as written and I thought it was very bland. I even added extra salt, pepper, and spices and chicken broth but none of it helped.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 150) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grilled Mediterranean Vegetable Sandwich

See how to make a roasted eggplant and portobello mushroom sandwich.

Cheesy Vegetable Lasagna

See how to make a cheesy, saucy vegetarian lasagna that’s loaded with veggies.

Easy Vegetable Pot Pie

All you need are a few minutes to prepare this simple veggie pot pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States