Winter Vegetable Hash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2009
Too much prep work for a so-so tasting dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2009
This recipe is very good as-is but even better, it's a super starting point for variations to suit what you have on hand and your personal preferences. One important tip is to use a non-stick, LARGE frying pan. I had absolutely no trouble with the hash sticking, though turning the massive quantity of veg made me wish I'd used my wok. I do agree that the prep time for this dish is way over 15 minutes, but the result is well worth it. The only reason I didn't rate this 5 stars is that it did, as a few other cooks have commented, need a little something extra to "oomf" the flavor. I added about 1 teaspoon of Worchestershire sauce, a dash of cayenne and a touch of balsamic vinegar and that did the trick. The balsamico worked very well with the squash and sweet potato that I added. Other changes I made at one time or another were to use less plain potato and substitute sweet potato, add more kale (i like the stuff and it's so healthy) and added some bok choy that needed to be used. You get the idea, almost anything can go into this as long as you consider the cooking times. I'm going to try adding a cooked, crumbled hot Italian sausage next time just to see what that tastes like. One sausage in all that veg shouldn't add a lot of calories or fat. I took the "4 sprigs of sage" to mean 4 small tips of the branches, not just 4 leaves. That worked out well though if you wait too long to add it and it doesn't have time to lightly cook, the flavor is way too powerful. Fresh sage sho
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susanne_NL

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2009
The vegetables were too mushy for my taste. Not sure if it is worth all the prep time with the vegetables.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Eagle, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2009
Good start, but needs something. Needs some more spice and something else, just not sure what. Could be a 4 star with little work
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JADE1977

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2009
Super meal! I cooked mine with a bit of stock so that I could cut way back on the fat. Somehow my squash overcooked but the flavor was amazing, and it was sooo filling! I made Baked Kale Chips from this site with my leftover greens.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by geekOphile

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA
Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2009
The potatoes weren't quite tender enough after 25 minutes. So after adding the kale and sage, I put the top on the skillet while cooking the remaining 5 minutes. This was a quick dish. Tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Plaquemine, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2009
I added a bit of roasted chicken to this at the end and called it a meal. Everyone loved it, and it made the house smell fantastic! I did cover during much of the cook time, and it took about 15 minutes to cook through.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2009
I don't think I've ever rated a recipe 3 before. if I don't like the ingredients, I don’t make it. This recipe states 15 minutes prep time. I don't think Martha Stewart and a room full of assistants could peel, and dice an acorn squash, a pound of yukon potatoes, 8 oz of mushrooms, a cup of kale, a bell pepper and finely dice a shallot -- in 15 minutes. Seriously? No Way. I'm pretty efficient when it comes to dicing, but I was making this dish for a dinner group at 5:00 p.m. and I began shortly after 2:00 p.m. If my husband had not joined me and worked side by side for 45 minutes, there is no way it would have been ready. There was no instruction on how to peel an acorn squash- so I’ll add that I scrub the squash well, prick holes in it like you would a baked potato, then microwave it for about 3 minutes. Then it is soft enough to peel. Once you peel, you can slice then dice. I also saw no instructions on what to do with or when to add the sage. How much is a “Sprig” of fresh sage? I took 4 nice sized leaves and cut in small pieces with kitchen shears. It was not nearly enough to taste. The flavor seemed very bland, and even with additional olive oil and butter, it kept sticking, so I did as another reviewer suggested and added 2 chicken bouillon cubes to one cup of water and it finally began to have some flavor. If you really like these ingredients, please try the recipe, just know it will take a lot longer than 15 minutes to prepare. For me, the end result was not worth the
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2008
This was delicious. We used mustard greens instead of kale. The shitake mushrooms were great- be prepared though, they are expensive. I kept eating this, so healthy and flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2008
Yummy! This turned out fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 162) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Grilled Mediterranean Vegetable Sandwich

See how to make a roasted eggplant and portobello mushroom sandwich.

Cheesy Vegetable Lasagna

See how to make a cheesy, saucy vegetarian lasagna that’s loaded with veggies.

Marrakesh Vegetable Curry

This meal is bursting with exotic, rich flavors, and is very easy to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States