Winter Vegetable Hash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2009
This was really good. I followed another reviewers suggestion and added about a tsp of Worcestershire and about a tsp and a half of balsamic vinegar. Cooked everything in a Wok.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2009
I absolutely love this recipe. So hearty. I used rehydrated shiitakes and peppers, and it was still incredible. Superb.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2009
I fell in love with this at "Hello"!!!! Not a big squash fan, but after killing my hands to cube a butternut and acorn squash- it was worth it! I had never eaten Kale, and I used the whole bunch, which worked fine. This was fantastic! Will be using this one forever! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2009
Better than I thought it would be - surprisingly good actually. I used frozen spinach.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Post Falls, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2009
The vegetables used made for a great flavour combination. I boiled up some water as I chopped the potatoes and squash, and blanched them in the hot water prior to cooking in the skillet, made for much faster cooking time (15 minutes maybe), potatoes and squash were tender that way. Also add kale right at the start in the pan, it takes a while to wilt. Good flavours. Ate it with turkey.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2009
Very pretty to look at and fairly tasty. I would have liked it to be crispier than it was. Maybe a bigger pan would work for this. The prep time is quite a bit longer than stated in the recipe - all that peeling and dicing takes a while. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by susiekew

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2009
Delish! I did not use squash though but added fresh tomatoes. MMmmm! I put the kale in with all the other vegetables in the beginning & it worked out fine. I served it with the marinated baked pork chops. It was all gobbled up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2009
Absolutely wonderful! Made yesterday... Jason and I have torn through most all of it... only one serving left and so pleased with it's light heartiness. Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kndralyn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Claremore, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2009
Too much prep work for a so-so tasting dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2009
This recipe is very good as-is but even better, it's a super starting point for variations to suit what you have on hand and your personal preferences. One important tip is to use a non-stick, LARGE frying pan. I had absolutely no trouble with the hash sticking, though turning the massive quantity of veg made me wish I'd used my wok. I do agree that the prep time for this dish is way over 15 minutes, but the result is well worth it. The only reason I didn't rate this 5 stars is that it did, as a few other cooks have commented, need a little something extra to "oomf" the flavor. I added about 1 teaspoon of Worchestershire sauce, a dash of cayenne and a touch of balsamic vinegar and that did the trick. The balsamico worked very well with the squash and sweet potato that I added. Other changes I made at one time or another were to use less plain potato and substitute sweet potato, add more kale (i like the stuff and it's so healthy) and added some bok choy that needed to be used. You get the idea, almost anything can go into this as long as you consider the cooking times. I'm going to try adding a cooked, crumbled hot Italian sausage next time just to see what that tastes like. One sausage in all that veg shouldn't add a lot of calories or fat. I took the "4 sprigs of sage" to mean 4 small tips of the branches, not just 4 leaves. That worked out well though if you wait too long to add it and it doesn't have time to lightly cook, the flavor is way too powerful. Fresh sage sho
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susanne_NL

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 150) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grilled Mediterranean Vegetable Sandwich

See how to make a roasted eggplant and portobello mushroom sandwich.

Cheesy Vegetable Lasagna

See how to make a cheesy, saucy vegetarian lasagna that’s loaded with veggies.

Easy Vegetable Pot Pie

All you need are a few minutes to prepare this simple veggie pot pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States