Winter Vegetable Hash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Morten Vitved
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2014
Good hearty meal. 2 servings per person is plenty food. We substituted the Acorn Squash with ordinary Squash and it was still good. We also had a couple of soy sausages on the side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Morten Vitved

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2014
I followed the recipe but found it rather blah. I wasn't able to get Shitake mushrooms so I used regular white. Maybe that had a big effect on the flavor. Recipe didn't say to peel the acorn squash which was a mistake. If I ever made this again I would use butternut squash instead. Also needs more seasonings!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2014
Yum! This was super delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2014
My daughter and I are always looking for new vegetarian recipes and this one looked intruiging. It definitely takes some time to chop everything, so I do prep earlier than dinner.I used fresh garlic pressed instead of powder and regular sliced mushrooms due to cost. I had never cooked kale before but liked it and will double the amount next time and it doesn't hurt to put it in near the beginning if you like it tender.Peppers were omitted. Some people asked about how much sage? I used 4 good sized leaves snipped small and thought that was a good amount.I really felt the cooking time was understated, 45min was to my liking. The finished dish was warm and satisfying on a cold night and my daughter and I put it on our "have again" list!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vegiewings

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jchiam
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2014
Tried this last night and it was delicious. Used all ingredients except for the oil and mustard powder, which I didn't have in the kitchen. Still turned out fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2013
I made this exactly as written except that I used two cloves of garlic minced instead of garlic powder. I would certainly make this again many times for many occasions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2013
I made this tonight for dinner and it was fabulous! It did take forever to cut up the vegetables. I prepped that the night before. But after that it's quick and easy. Will definitely make this again. I had Turkey Kielbasa with the vegies. Thanks for a yummy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roanoke, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2013
Excellent. My modifications: 1) added several carrots, which gave a touch of sweetness to the dish, 2) used about 2 TBS of olive oil and a couple teaspoons of butter, 3) added dried thyme and marjoram, 4) added one shallot and one finely diced onion, 5) sautéed the onion and shallots until translucent, then added the potatoes and carrots and cooked for 10 minutes, and 6) added all other ingredients, including the kale, after this. Note that preparing all the vegetables is time consuming. I suggest buying already-peeled chunks of butternut squash, if available in your grocery store.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2013
Delicious! A lot of prep work, but I did not mind - cooking is fun. :-) Makes a very fresh, seasonal side dish. I did as another reviewer suggested and started out sautéing the potatoes with the onion and fresh garlic (instead of seasoning) for 10-15 minutes, then added the rest of the veggies (except the kale). Turned out perfect - the potatoes were nicely done. I also used portabella mushrooms since I couldn't find shiitake, and it tasted just fine. Definitely a keeper for a warm fall/winter meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2013
I used this recipe as a starting off point, adding some additional vegetables like beets, carrots, yellow onion, and garlic. Skipped the butter and used extra olive oil. (I'm a vegan) Changed up the herbs and spices too. At any rate, mine turned out amazing. Enjoyed by vegans an non-vegans alike.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 151) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grilled Mediterranean Vegetable Sandwich

See how to make a roasted eggplant and portobello mushroom sandwich.

Cheesy Vegetable Lasagna

See how to make a cheesy, saucy vegetarian lasagna that’s loaded with veggies.

Easy Vegetable Pot Pie

All you need are a few minutes to prepare this simple veggie pot pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States