Winter Squash Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: May 24, 2010
I made these for Easter and everyone said "ewwww-squash rolls!" until they tried them. Everyone thought they were great. Very moist and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2010
Great way to up the health factor in bread. I used spaghetti squash, and although the rolls came out very moist, they didn't have much flavor. This would GREATLY benefit from the addition of herbs or maybe extra sugar for a slightly sweet roll. I think this would be much better with butternut squash since that's slightly sweeter like sweet potato.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2010
Just right bun (as per Jacob)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2010
This recipe is awesome! I have made this numerous times and it always turns out great. Most recently I used rice milk which worked out great, I've also used canned pumpkin to speed up the process with excellent results. One of my family's favorite recipes for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2010
I followed the recipe exactly and the outcome was absolutely delicious rolls! Very soft, yet somewhat dense and a beautiful color! have a 9 yo sister who is a picky eater and she is always asking for "squash bread" now. The one is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2009
These are really fantastic! I made a 1/2 recipe and used an entire cup of butternut squash (roasted, scooped out, and mashed). The came out just a little too moist, so next time I will scale it back in line with how the recipe is written. I also added 1 T fresh minced sage which turned out to be a good move. So very tasty, so moist, and a beautiful, appealing color. Thanks for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2009
These are great! What a great thing to do with winter squash! My family hates squash but loves these rolls. Two thumbs up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2009
Great recipe. I gave one to someone who does not like squash and he loved them! Thank you for sharing:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by capecodcook79

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Barnstable, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2009
these are the best rolls I've ever had! But, the baking time is way off- needs more like twice the suggested time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2009
The first time I tried this in the bread machine it was an abject failure. I managed success though by doing a half recipe and heating the milk and water still so the lard melted before adding to the bread machine. They were nice buns but I was expecting more flavour. Perhaps it was my squash that was bland?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 143) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Prep and Cook Winter Squash

Discover all the different ways to prep and cook winter squash.

Glazed Butternut Squash

Learn how to make maple syrup- and dark rum-glazed butternut squash.

Butternut Squash Casserole

A creamy squash casserole with a custard-like texture and crunchy topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States