Winter Squash Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2012
I made these today using butternut squash. I used half the recipe but wish I hadn't! These looked beautiful. I substituted butter for the shortening, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2012
What i a wonderful recipe. I added a little more sugar so they were a bit on the sweet side. Just the way i like it. I've stored them overnight in a plastic wrap. Next day they were very soft and tasty. I will definitely make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AnnaB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pasadena, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2012
I make these on a regular basis now. I made them for Thanksgiving with some farmers market delicate a squash I wanted to put to good us. I make them at least once a month. I ziplock them and ration them to the best of my abilities. I use butternut usually and up the amount to 3+cups....I use them for breakfast with honey or cinnamon/butter....yummy! My son and I love them! With honey(cardamom cinnamon) its like French toast!! Great recipe. It deserves more than 5 stars
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2012
My kids LOVED these...which is a feat considering they won't touch squash. We used them as buns for sliders with a crockpotted roast. The dough is really easy to make. The only difficulty I ran into was that they ended up being super doughy...even after I threw them in the oven for a little longer three times (once in the pan, once completely separated, and once separated and cut in 1/2 doughy side down). Next time (and there WILL be a next time), I won't use the pan...I'll put individual rolls on my stoneware to bake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2012
ok please somebody HELP. I have all these bread recipes that call for 1 or 2 packages of yeast or .25 ounces. how much is that measurement if using a spoon? 1 teaspoon , 2 teaspoons 8 teaspoons. I am confused and can't find the conversion for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2012
Wonderful! I was given two butternut squash this fall, and had no idea what to do with them! While I do enjoy it simply baked, there was no way I wanted to eat them both that way! This solved my dilemma, and I plan to make some to take to my family's Christmas gathering, I'm sure everyone will love them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2012
Loved, loved, loved this recipe! I used roasted butternut and found I needed to add a lot more flour (maybe another 1 1/2 c), as the dough was very stick. I subbed 1/2 c wheat flour but hesitated to use much more for fear of them getting too heavy. Texture was perfect! I halved the recipe and still came out with 12 large rolls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2012
Really, really yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by b.stebick

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2012
I used pumpkin, these were great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Queen Llemon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by R. Martin
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2012
I was very happy with how these came out. I used butternut squash and also half shortening and half butter instead of all shortening. It may be helpful to note for some people that you will most likely need to adjust the amount of flour used, based on the climate you live in (humid=more flour/dry=less flour). Also the amount of flour can vary widely depending on how much liquid your squash retains. If your dough is really sticky, it needs more flour. I had to add more than the recipe called for but my squash was pretty wet so I expected it. I was able to make 32 decent size rolls with this recipe. I baked them on a greased sheet pan at the time and temp called for. They came out soft and chewy with just a touch of sweetness. I brushed them with melted butter after removing from the oven, too. ;) This one is a keeper! Thanks for sharing Tracey!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 137) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Prep and Cook Winter Squash

Discover all the different ways to prep and cook winter squash.

Glazed Butternut Squash

Learn how to make maple syrup- and dark rum-glazed butternut squash.

Butternut Squash Casserole

A creamy squash casserole with a custard-like texture and crunchy topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States