Winter Squash Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2013
I was looking for a recipe for dinner rolls that I could pre-make and freeze up to the final rise and then thaw and bake after the final rise since I was having hand surgery the week before Thanksgiving and still wanted to be able to cook for and host dinner. I knew my hand would not be up to kneading dough post op so I froze these after forming the rolls and before the second rise. They were sweet, light and no one could believe I hadn't made them fresh that morning! Inveterate squash haters even loved these rolls as well! Note: I was really worried that the freezing would effect the ability of the yeast to rise a second time but the little critters did just great. I am going to try making this recipe in loaf pans as I think it will make a great bread as well. The rolls were sublime when I made more to go with my turkey soup I made with the leftover turkey carcass. Note: to cut down on kneading time I use my Kitchenaide stand mixer and dough hook to knead the dough and I always end up adding about 2 extra cups of flour to get the dough to come together. I also bake my butternut squash slathered in butter and maple syrup as baking creates a much richer flavor palate than boiling or steaming in the microwave. Extra squash can be frozen in appropriate portioned ziplock baggies for future batches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
I don't know what I did wrong but my dough was very tough and never rose. I followed the directions so I am very disappointed that my ingredients were all wasted. I wish I would have had better results like every other reviewer of this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gail Halpin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2013
Super easy to make and a great way to eat something I usually skip in the grocery store.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becky Jones Rivera

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2013
Ahh! My mistake. 1st off I halved the recipe for my breadmaker. I hate measuring and I believe I put in too much squash puree. So while the dough was kneading in my breadmachine I had to add a lot more flour and seeing as I had to add flour, added add'l other ingredients. Went to bed and in the morning had a HUGE loaf of squash bread that was unfortunately undercooked. I'm rating this recipe 5 because even the parts I could use tasted great! I then just cubed up the rest and dried in my oven for next weeks Turkey dinner dressing which should add a great dimention to my usual stuffing. Will definatley try again...but with measured puree:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by janasue1459

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Laguna Hills, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2013
Great bread but some needed tweaks! First of all, 2 packages of yeast is far too much....this is probably why people are getting gigantic buns :) 3 tsp is more than enough. Also with the addition of the cooked squash, it adds a lot more liquid and consequently 6 cups of flour turns into closer to 8. I cut the sugar to a 1/3 cup but you could get away with only a tablespoon if you wanted and added only 1tsp of salt. The temperature is best at 350 and I found even at that, they were done with excessive browning on the bottom of the bun by 25minutes. All that said, it was a GREAT idea and what a unique way to use up some of that yummy squash. Will for sure be making again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LDSGIRL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2013
This is my 3d time making this recipe...it rocks! First, don't preheat your oven until the last 10 minutes of your 2d proof, or you're just wasting electricity. 2d, for anyone working with scalded milk for the first time, be sure you let it cool, or you will kill the yeast when you pour it in. The only other thing I'd say is if you divide this into 12, you'll have 12 rolls the size of your hand! I just split mine into 32 and will probably cut the oven back to 375. Awesome recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2013
SOOOO yummy, my family loves them! Very moist! I use butter instead of shortening and exchange 2 cups of AP flour for whole wheat. I have also used honey instead of white sugar. My friends kids ate them up and she cannot get veggies down them without a fight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2013
I had a squash I needed to use so jumped on Allrecipes to look for an interesting recipe. I tripped over this one and thought it sounded good (and love making bread) so decided to make these rolls. I did not have time to read through many of the reviews however, all that I saw were positive with no recommendations for change. I made the dough, and stuck it in the oven for the first proof. Pulled it out, made 12 rolls (in a 9x13 pan) put them back in the oven for the second proof and baked them. That is where the problem comes in. I baked them for 12 minutes, pulled one out to check it and it was raw in the middle. I turned the oven down (as they were already nicely browned) snd put them back in to continue cooking. I took them out after 15 minutes and they still weren't fully cooked. At this point the top of the rolls were getting dark (but not burnt). I covered the rolls with foil, turned off the oven and put the rolls back in the oven with the door cracked and went to bed. I will try these again. I don't like failures in the kitchen and I have 1/2 of a squash left in the fridge I need to use. I will read all of the reviews and adjust accordingly. I know I will reduce the roll size by half right off the bat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2013
very tasty and very pretty rolls. not sure they are worth all the work for regular weekly meals but are great for holiday dinners.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jolley900

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2013
These were a huge hit for Christmas dinner. The next time I made a double batch and froze the dough in roll shapes. They were very popular with my adult "kids" for sandwiches, so I could pull them out of the freezer in the am and have fresh rolls by lunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 138) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Prep and Cook Winter Squash

Discover all the different ways to prep and cook winter squash.

Glazed Butternut Squash

Learn how to make maple syrup- and dark rum-glazed butternut squash.

Butternut Squash Casserole

A creamy squash casserole with a custard-like texture and crunchy topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States