Winter Squash Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2007
this is delicious! my quest for the perfect dinner rolls stops here. those rolls stay soft even after 3 days!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2007
These rolls were delicious. My kids that don't like squash thought they tasted kind of like hawaiian rolls. I made this in my bread machine so I had to cut the recipe in half. I used 3/4c. of mashed squash that had been frozen. I put all of the wet ingredients, including squash and shortening in first, mixed the dry ingredients and added next. Made a well in the dry ingredients and put the package of yeast in. Then used the dough settings. While it was mixing it looked a little dry so I added 2 tsp of water, 1 at a time. When it finished I made it into 15 dinner size rolls. They were great and so easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2007
Amazing! This was my first attempt at "from scratch" rolls and I was pleasantly surprised at the outcome. They make very generous, delicious rolls that go well with honey butter spread or anything. Thanks for the recipe! This recipe's getting laminated. I'll be making these forever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melanie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2007
VERY nice rolls. I used the ingredients listed with the exception of 1/3C olive oil instead of shortening. These rolls were to accompany a italian soup, and I didn't have any shortening, so I decided to go with olive oil instead of butter, and crossed my fingers. I used butternut squash and it was perfect. I also decided to use my bread-maker, and crossed fingers again. I put all the wet stuff in the bottom, followed by the dry stuff, and the yeast on top--bread machine/rapid rise yeast, so I reduced the amount to 3 and 1/4 tsp. I used the dough setting on my machine, then pulled it out and made rolls. I let them rise as directed, although it took a little longer for them to double than 1/2 hour as recommended. I expected to have leftovers, because I was only feeding 9 people, and I made a full recipe of a grilled flat-bread as well, (great Serendipity recipe on this site) but I didn't have one roll leftover.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Florence, Oregon, USA
Living In: Springfield, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2007
I made smaller dinner size rolls and used part butter instead of all shortening. They came out great and they were scarfed up in minutes at the cub scout banquet I took them to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2007
These are amazing - so fluffy and moist. I make them healthier by adding one teaspoon nutritional yeast, one teaspoon wheat germ, one tablespoon nonfat milk powder, one tablespoon soy flour, one heaping tablespoon wheat flour and one teaspoon ground flax seed per cup of white flour. This only adds nutrition and does not affect the taste at all! I used butternut squash as well - fantastic!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2006
This is the best recipe I've ever used for dinner rolls and will be my recipe of choice from now on. The rolls have a wonderful color. The flavor reminds me of potato bread (which I LOVE). One average butternut squash will yield enough squash for about 4 batches. The rolls are large enough to use as sandwich rolls (with lunch) when the dough is only divided into 12 pieces. For dinner rolls (to accompany a supper meal), I would divide the dough into at least 18 pieces, if not 24.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Twin Rocks, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2006
I followed the instructions of SAVIMAHARAJ and made 18 rolls and they came out just as I would have wanted. Using the bread machine was so convenient, and the rolls were colorful, delicious and perfectly sized. The leftover rolls do need to be kept in the fridge though, because with the squash and high moisture content, they will mold quickly. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2006
These rolls were a great way to use our abundance of winter squash. The only change I made was to sub butter for shortening. Tey turned out light and flavorful. Great warm with a little butter. Served them with 2 chilis from this site at a party. Although the corn bread was a bigger hit, I REALLy loved these rolls too. My only comment was that tehse rolls do not appear to have winter squash in them (by color or flavor). Similar to a potato bread, the squash impacts the texture more than anything else. nevertheless, a very nice roll.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2006
These were REALLY good rolls. I didn't have any shortning, so I used butter instead, which was great and this recipe made 17 large rolls instead of 12. If I had made 12, they would have been HUGE...although that would have been ok because they are so good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 141) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Prep and Cook Winter Squash

Discover all the different ways to prep and cook winter squash.

Glazed Butternut Squash

Learn how to make maple syrup- and dark rum-glazed butternut squash.

Butternut Squash Casserole

A creamy squash casserole with a custard-like texture and crunchy topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States