Winter Squash Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
This was a very good roll recipe. First, I want to say that 1 1/3 c cubed squash would seem to equal about 1 1/4 pureed squash. I thawed frozen pureed squash and had to look at other recipes to figure out which ratio of squash to flour might be right. Also, I want to jump on the serving size bandwagon- I halved the recipe and still ended up with 24 average sized rolls, so if there are truly 12 serving per recipe, that would mean 4 rolls per serving on 1 humongous (read: small loaf) roll. Took this for Thanksgiving dinner and everyone enjoyed, especially the kids. My 5 yo couldn't get enough and ate 3 right out of the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Owego, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2008
yum, need to let the rolls rise the additional 30 mins or else they taste a little doughy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2008
very delicious try with apple butter next time around
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2008
Delicious! Can be made partly with whole wheat flour, and usually yields more than described for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2008
I made this exactly as written (except I substitue the shortening for 'Smart Blend' and used homemade baby-food squash puree for the winter squash). The dough was too sticky for kneading, after incorporating the 6 cups of flour. This could be the result of using baby-food squash, which is very smooth and have a high water content. I ended up adding an additional cup of flour so that the dough was workable. I also did not use a mixed as described in the instructions. I used a pastry blender to incorp the 'butter' and squash into the flour, then mixed all liquids together and add to the flour mixture using a wooden spoon. The result was very soft, delicious rolls. There was no squash flavor, which DH expected. This is a great recipe for people who are allergic to eggs. Thank you for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ying

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kowloon City, Kowloon Peninsula, Hong Kong

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2008
We really enjoyed these!! Great use of a winter squash that I had in my pantry. I did halve it and we have leftovers for tomorrow. Will be making again. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2008
Thia is an awesome recipe! I made it last night for my husband and I. We used it... adding bbq pork... for dinner and it was the best. We loved it! I made 8 large rolls with a halved recipe. It was so good that I went back and made 3 more batches and froze the rolls (made smaller this time) in the freezer for use later. I also love that these used my squash which has been sitting around waiting for a good use. I had already pureed it... assuming I'd use it in sweet bread... but this is sooo much better. Thanx Mitchell!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DitzyDame

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2008
These are really good--taste very much like Sister Schubert frozen rolls (the only rolls I condescend to buy...). Anyway, I made a few adjustments per other reviewers' suggestions (most notably, AmyJean). I made 27 rolls instead of 12; put 9 in each of 3 8-inch square pans and froze two of the pans covered in saran wrap (before rising/baking). I also used oil instead of Crisco and half-whole wheat flour. I baked them 12 minutes and they were soft, but yummy! The main reason these don't get a 5 from me is that I have several other recipes (albeit without squash) which taste very similar to these, so these don't stand out in a particular way. But they're good! One more note for those new to yeast breads: if you use rapid rise (instant) yeast, you can just add the yeast to the flour and combine the water with the milk. You can skip the first rise and just let the dough rest a few minutes before shaping the rolls. Speeds everything up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2007
Tasty, but they didn't seem to want to get done! I found the finished rolls to be a bit gooey, even after an extra 15 minutes of baking. . .but other folks at my Thanksgiving dinner really liked them! I'll have to keep playing with it, and find the right set-up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joy Higginbotham

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Buckeye, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2007
These rolls were so delicious - I made rolls for Thanksgiving dinner plus largers "hamburger" style rolls for Turkey sandwiches. I did over cook one batch of rolls and they were not as good - but the ones I pulled out a bit (I thought) early were excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 137) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Prep and Cook Winter Squash

Discover all the different ways to prep and cook winter squash.

Glazed Butternut Squash

Learn how to make maple syrup- and dark rum-glazed butternut squash.

Butternut Squash Casserole

A creamy squash casserole with a custard-like texture and crunchy topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States