Winter Squash Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2014
My favorite dinner rolls! As everyone else says they are HUGE. I used a delicata squash 2x now but you can barely taste the squash. However, they are super moist and very delicious. I tricked non-squash eaters at Thanksgiving and they gobbled them up! Easy way to add in a vegetable to an otherwise white roll. I cook them at 350 for like 12 minutes and make them smaller and they come out just great :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica Larson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2014
I don't think I have ever had dinner rolls at home that didn't come out of a bag, and now that I have tried the real thing I will never go back. I used one whole delicata squash from my produce box and it turned out the be the perfect amount. I used melted butter instead of shortening because butter is better, had to add extra flour to get the dough to form a ball, and divided the dough into 16 rolls instead of 12. I should have frozen half the dough to use later because I ended up with way too many rolls. I also think my pan was too crowded because the rolls in the middle ended up being doughy after baking at 425 for 15 minutes (I was baking potatoes at the same time), but the ones on the edge were baked perfectly. All in all, these were worth the work and are definitely worth trying again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lhan Liad
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2014
gotta try this again :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lhan Liad

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2014
very heavy. halved the recipe and made 9 rolls in an 8x8 pan...needed more cook time, gooey in middle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2014
It wasn't terrible. Seemed like too much liquid. Also, the bake temp was too high and the bottom of the rolls got tough. I halved the sugar and it was still very sweet for a dinner roll. Probably won't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2014
I reduced the amount in recipe to half and decreased the temperature to 375 degree, baking for 15 min. The outcome was just perfect! Not too dry or too moist. I love the squash taste blended with yeast bread. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2014
I was skeptical of this at first, but since I have a very picky son who loves bread but doesn't like vegetables, I thought I'd give it a try. We were all surprised! We used butternut squash since we had extra and they were delicious! My husband has already requested them for Thanksgiving! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2014
I substituted butter for shortening, used steamed and puréed butternut squash, and added all ingredients to my bread machine through the first rise. Took them out and formed them into rolls, into a casserole dish, let them rise again, then into the oven. They were a beautiful golden color, moist, and delish. I'll be making them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2014
Very good. Great way to use squash.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2014
Very easy to make and they are delish
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 146) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Prep and Cook Winter Squash

Discover all the different ways to prep and cook winter squash.

Glazed Butternut Squash

Learn how to make maple syrup- and dark rum-glazed butternut squash.

Butternut Squash Casserole

A creamy squash casserole with a custard-like texture and crunchy topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States