Winter Squash Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2010
These were amazing!! I used butternut squash that was sold already cubed at Costco. After boiling and mashing the squash, and scalding the milk, I just combined all the ingredients in my kitchenaid mixer with rapidrise yeast. My kids went crazy! I will make these again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
great rolls. My family all loved them. They all love butternut squash and particularly enjoyed these rolls. I used sugar alternative and coconut oil shortening and they turned out perfect! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
This was an excellent recipe! The dough came out so nice and soft and smooth that my kids even helped make the rolls. I doubled it and made them a little smaller but they were still plenty big for dinner rolls. The double batch made about 3 1/2 dozen. They were so perfect for our harvest party dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2010
Very moist and quite good! I only gave them three stars, though, because I'd prefer something with a more interesting flavor and texture. I think these would be better with a little more grit, so if I make them again, I'll use half wheat flour next time. I might also toy with using butter instead of crisco. I followed the recipe exactly this time except that I cut back the sugar to 1/3 of a cup, and they still seemed plenty sweet to me. Sweet, moist, and HUGE. The other reviewers weren't kidding. I should have halved the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nicholasville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2010
These rolls are GREAT! I used frozen squash that I defrosted and warmed to room temp, They were tender, soft and tasted wonderful they looked like store bought or something out of a magazine. everyone loved them and asked me to make them again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gailleet

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Watertown, New York, USA
Living In: Bangor, Maine, USA
Reviewed: May 24, 2010
I made these for Easter and everyone said "ewwww-squash rolls!" until they tried them. Everyone thought they were great. Very moist and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2010
Great way to up the health factor in bread. I used spaghetti squash, and although the rolls came out very moist, they didn't have much flavor. This would GREATLY benefit from the addition of herbs or maybe extra sugar for a slightly sweet roll. I think this would be much better with butternut squash since that's slightly sweeter like sweet potato.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2010
Just right bun (as per Jacob)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2010
This recipe is awesome! I have made this numerous times and it always turns out great. Most recently I used rice milk which worked out great, I've also used canned pumpkin to speed up the process with excellent results. One of my family's favorite recipes for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2010
I followed the recipe exactly and the outcome was absolutely delicious rolls! Very soft, yet somewhat dense and a beautiful color! have a 9 yo sister who is a picky eater and she is always asking for "squash bread" now. The one is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 138) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Prep and Cook Winter Squash

Discover all the different ways to prep and cook winter squash.

Glazed Butternut Squash

Learn how to make maple syrup- and dark rum-glazed butternut squash.

Butternut Squash Casserole

A creamy squash casserole with a custard-like texture and crunchy topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States