Winter Squash Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
light and fluffy, they were wonderful!.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bountiful, Utah, USA
Living In: Laie, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
These are delicious! Unfortunately, I had to make them a second time since they didn't work out the first time. It was my fault; after letting the dough to rise the first time, I then put the dough in the fridge overnight thinking it would be ok to rise again. Then, I didn't thoroughly allow the dough to warm up to room temperature. What ended up coming out of the oven was half a dozen rocks. Determined to figure out what happened, I made them again and this time allowed the dough to rise at room temperature and they came out perfectly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gehbienes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
Tasty, moist rolls. I made 16 rolls instead of 12 and I still thought the rolls were a little big. I also brushed the tops of the rolls with egg which gave them a nice sheen. The dough is a little hard to form into rounds. Maybe I just need more practice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
Great flavor and texture. A good way to work more seasonal veggies into your meals. I made these for Thanksgiving and they were a hit! I think it's worth noting that the recipe makes way more than 12 servings, though. I cut the recipe in half and still filled a 9x13 pan with 12 dinner rolls!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by julie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oakridge, Oregon, USA
Living In: Medford, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
I loved these rolls, as did everyone else who ate them! I used butternut squash, so my rolls had a very nice yellow tint to them. Many previous reviews mentioned the large size of the rolls. I found them to be too large, as well, so I simply made 24 rolls instead of 12. They were the perfect size!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miss Dusty

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2011
These were so satisfying! I made them to go with tonight's dinner of potato leek soup and they were the perfect accompaniment. My husband ate so many, he didn't have room left for dessert. This recipe really does yield huge rolls, but that's not a bad thing. They're slightly sweet, moist and tender, and a lovely color. I found them super easy to whip together in my stand mixer with a bread hook, adding flour until the dough stopped sticking to the sides of the bowl. I prefer to roast my squash rather than boil it for a richer flavor, but this results in a lower water content, so I started with a little less flour and just keep adding until I had a smooth ball of dough. Fantastic recipe! These are going to become a staple in our fall and winter meals.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
These came out melt in your mouth light! I used a stick of butter instead of the shortening, and then brushed the tops with butter as soon as they were out of the oven. I agree that they didn't have a strong flavor, but for many dinners you don't want the roll to have a big flavor profile of its own. I'll be making these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dessert Crazy

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Lansdale, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2011
Way too much yeast for my taste. Otherwise its a good texture, but there are a a lot of recipes with better results and much less work on this website.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2011
I love this recipe! I tried making a 1/2 recipe, but wanted more squash, so I used what the recipe originally called for and just added more flour to it until it wasn't so sticky. I added butter to it before baking, which I probably shouldn't have done because it browns quicker, but it gave it an amazing baked in butter flavor. I'm hooked to fresh baked bread, thank you for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COOKING4MYBOYS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2011
So delicious! I've made them twice now with butternut squash. I freeze the extra dough in roll-sized portions and bake them one at a time when I'm on my own for dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amara

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 136) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Prep and Cook Winter Squash

Discover all the different ways to prep and cook winter squash.

Glazed Butternut Squash

Learn how to make maple syrup- and dark rum-glazed butternut squash.

Butternut Squash Casserole

A creamy squash casserole with a custard-like texture and crunchy topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States