Winter Squash Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2009
These are really fantastic! I made a 1/2 recipe and used an entire cup of butternut squash (roasted, scooped out, and mashed). The came out just a little too moist, so next time I will scale it back in line with how the recipe is written. I also added 1 T fresh minced sage which turned out to be a good move. So very tasty, so moist, and a beautiful, appealing color. Thanks for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2009
These are great! What a great thing to do with winter squash! My family hates squash but loves these rolls. Two thumbs up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2009
Great recipe. I gave one to someone who does not like squash and he loved them! Thank you for sharing:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by capecodcook79

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Barnstable, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2009
these are the best rolls I've ever had! But, the baking time is way off- needs more like twice the suggested time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2009
The first time I tried this in the bread machine it was an abject failure. I managed success though by doing a half recipe and heating the milk and water still so the lard melted before adding to the bread machine. They were nice buns but I was expecting more flavour. Perhaps it was my squash that was bland?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2009
This was my first attempt at making rolls.. And it came out GREAT!.. if not exactly "squashy". I've never had a squash roll before so I'm not sure how much of the squash you are supposed to be able to taste, but I could barely recognize it. But they still tasted great! I scaled the recipe in half and made 10 rolls (instead of 6). Otherwise followed the directions exactly. I used acorn squash. Even my bread hating husband ate 3!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robin
Living In: Sedona, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2009
Made these with my stand mixer and dough hook. It was the most perfect dough! I needed quite a bit more flour and used a combination of all-purpose and bread flour. I also took the shortcut of using a 10 oz. package of (thawed) frozen squash. They were perfect and wonderful. 12 rolls would have been huge. I made them dinner roll size and got one 9X13 and one 8X8 pans full. My guests were delighted to take some home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2009
These were awesome! I halved the recipe and used some already cooked and mashed squash that I had in the freezer from last fall. I didn't measure it but I has enough that I didn't need to add the milk. I baked in a 9 inch round cake pan and I had 8 good size rolls. The whole family raved about these and the leftovers were still moist two days later-many homemade rolls are very dry by then! This is a keeper for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VTmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2009
"Num... Num... NUM!" (That is from my one year old.) And I agree! This was the first time ever that I made yeast rise rolls/bread (hate to admit it), yet this recipe worked wonderfully. I swapped the margarine for all butter and they came out perfect. (I only use 100% natural products.) Next time I'll follow another reviewer's suggestion to half the recipe... or likely split it into two 13 X 9 pans and freeze a finished pan for later. It takes a lot of work but is well worth the effort! Thank you for sharing your recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RASHELLY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Elkhart, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2009
These are wonderful. Soft rolls with a hint of sweetness from the squash. Beautiful golden color. Would make wonderful cinnamon rolls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 148) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Prep and Cook Winter Squash

Discover all the different ways to prep and cook winter squash.

Glazed Butternut Squash

Learn how to make maple syrup- and dark rum-glazed butternut squash.

Butternut Squash Casserole

A creamy squash casserole with a custard-like texture and crunchy topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States