Winter Squash Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2009
Yummy and a little more healthy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2009
Lost is found. I made these a couple years ago and forgot about them. I forgot how rich and light these were and how wonderful the taste was. This goes to the top of my bread recipes and I won't lose this one again. Great roll recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2009
The perfect roll recipe! Soft, tender, and delicious. I made a half recipe and still came out with 12 good sized rolls (fit in a 9x13). I also used white whole wheat flour and brushed the rolls with a little melted butter when they came out of the oven. I will definitely be making these for all my holiday meals!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2009
As other reviewers have said, this makes very large rolls - I cut them into 16 pieces and they were still larger than I like for dinner rolls. The flavor was great, though, and it's a great way to use winter squash.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2009
These were so good! My husband and his brother (who would not eat squash if they were starving) devoured these rolls. They each ate several the night I made them and got up and had them for breakfast too. When they were gone DH asked when I was going to make more. Of course I didn't tell him about the squash and my daughter said I shouldn't tell him ;) I steamed the squash in the steamer and left the dough pretty soft. great! thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Riverton, Utah, USA
Living In: West Jordan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2009
These rolls are delicious! If you only make 12, they come out HUGE! The second time I made these, I ended up with 36 smaller rolls. Either way they ended up delicious! Even my father, who doesn't like squash, thought these rolls were great! Thanks, I will definitely be making these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2009
This is my favorite roll recipe. I use them for sandwiches and as hamburger buns as well as an accompaniment for soups, stews, roasts, etc. I actually double the recipe each time I make it and then after shaping the dough into rolls (smaller than the recipe calls for, a little smaller than my fist or so, so that when they puff up while cooking they end up about hamburger-bun size) I freeze the majority of them in freezer bags. Then when I want to I can take out as many as I need and let them sit on a baking sheet on the counter (covered with a clean, damp dishtowel) to thaw for an hour or so and then bake as directed. They still taste wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2009
Good! Very tasty, moist, and they have a very deep golden color. With the butternut squash, I put it in the microwave (covered) for several minutes, and then just pulled off the skin. Be sure to rotate it if you microvwave it. Also makes it softer and easier to cut. Boiling gets you the same result.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BakingBot

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2009
These were so good I was even snacking on the dough! Changed the following: 1) I used half an acorn squash from our garden, 2) Omitted the 1/2 C water and 1 C of the flour (so that it would all fit in my bread machine), 3) Used butter instead of shortning. Simple and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2008
I am very new to baking with yeast. I ended up adding almost an extra cup of flour to get it so I could knead it. Took 20 minutes to bake - still not sure if they are thoroughly cooked through. Maybe the squash gives them a different consistency. I really didn't taste the squash. Not sure if I would attempt again. Probably just my lack of experience.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 138) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Prep and Cook Winter Squash

Discover all the different ways to prep and cook winter squash.

Glazed Butternut Squash

Learn how to make maple syrup- and dark rum-glazed butternut squash.

Butternut Squash Casserole

A creamy squash casserole with a custard-like texture and crunchy topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States