Winter Squash Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2009
These are great! What a great thing to do with winter squash! My family hates squash but loves these rolls. Two thumbs up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2009
Great recipe. I gave one to someone who does not like squash and he loved them! Thank you for sharing:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by capecodcook79

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Barnstable, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2009
these are the best rolls I've ever had! But, the baking time is way off- needs more like twice the suggested time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2009
The first time I tried this in the bread machine it was an abject failure. I managed success though by doing a half recipe and heating the milk and water still so the lard melted before adding to the bread machine. They were nice buns but I was expecting more flavour. Perhaps it was my squash that was bland?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2009
This was my first attempt at making rolls.. And it came out GREAT!.. if not exactly "squashy". I've never had a squash roll before so I'm not sure how much of the squash you are supposed to be able to taste, but I could barely recognize it. But they still tasted great! I scaled the recipe in half and made 10 rolls (instead of 6). Otherwise followed the directions exactly. I used acorn squash. Even my bread hating husband ate 3!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robin
Living In: Sedona, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2009
Made these with my stand mixer and dough hook. It was the most perfect dough! I needed quite a bit more flour and used a combination of all-purpose and bread flour. I also took the shortcut of using a 10 oz. package of (thawed) frozen squash. They were perfect and wonderful. 12 rolls would have been huge. I made them dinner roll size and got one 9X13 and one 8X8 pans full. My guests were delighted to take some home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2009
These were awesome! I halved the recipe and used some already cooked and mashed squash that I had in the freezer from last fall. I didn't measure it but I has enough that I didn't need to add the milk. I baked in a 9 inch round cake pan and I had 8 good size rolls. The whole family raved about these and the leftovers were still moist two days later-many homemade rolls are very dry by then! This is a keeper for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VTmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2009
"Num... Num... NUM!" (That is from my one year old.) And I agree! This was the first time ever that I made yeast rise rolls/bread (hate to admit it), yet this recipe worked wonderfully. I swapped the margarine for all butter and they came out perfect. (I only use 100% natural products.) Next time I'll follow another reviewer's suggestion to half the recipe... or likely split it into two 13 X 9 pans and freeze a finished pan for later. It takes a lot of work but is well worth the effort! Thank you for sharing your recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RASHELLY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Elkhart, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2009
These are wonderful. Soft rolls with a hint of sweetness from the squash. Beautiful golden color. Would make wonderful cinnamon rolls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2009
Yummy and a little more healthy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 137) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Prep and Cook Winter Squash

Discover all the different ways to prep and cook winter squash.

Glazed Butternut Squash

Learn how to make maple syrup- and dark rum-glazed butternut squash.

Butternut Squash Casserole

A creamy squash casserole with a custard-like texture and crunchy topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States