Winter Squash Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2011
So delicious! I've made them twice now with butternut squash. I freeze the extra dough in roll-sized portions and bake them one at a time when I'm on my own for dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amara

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sarah Jo
Reviewed: May 24, 2011
I cut this recipe in half. Because I did not have winter squash on hand, I used Trader Joe's organic canned pumpkin. I used my Kitchen Aid mixer to make these rolls. I proofed the yeast with the slightly-cooled scalded milk, warm water and sugar for ten minutes, then added the cooked squash, melted butter, and all the dry ingredients. I did need just a touch more flour than the recipe stated to get it to form into a ball and jump on the bread hook, almost another full cup. I kneaded it in the Kitchen Aid with the dough hook for about five minutes or more, adding more flour when the dough would stick to the bottom of the mixer bowl (which it did because the dough was rather sticky). I set it to rise in a greased bowl on my heating pad for an hour, then formed them into rolls and plopped them into greased muffin tins (about a heaping 1/4 cup for each roll?), covered them and set them to rise on my heating pad until they doubled. Right before baking, I lightly brushed them with a little melted butter. 400* for 12 minutes was absolutely perfect. Good sized dinner rolls that were soft, fluffy and absolutely wonderful. What a fantastic recipe and really, the pumpkin adds a pretty color and adds a little something to the roll that's really fantastic. I think this would make a great sweet roll dough. NOTE: Watch these in the oven, they do have quick minute or two where they could burn. I almost had that happen but I caught it just in time. HALF RECIPE for me was exactly 12 rolls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2011
Best rolls I ever made! Thanks so much for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Traci

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ozone Park, New York, USA
Living In: Milford, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by footballgrl16
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2011
Half of the recipe made 12 big rolls for me! These were much like another recipe for rolls, but I enjoyed these equally and they have added nutrients from the squash. I don't like recipes that call for cubed raw beggies, as the size of your cubes really can affect the amount. I ended up using 1/2 c of mashed squash for half of the recipe. I used margarine instead of shortening to give it some more flavor. I did end up kneading another cup of flour at least to get this to the right consistency. The first rise took 2 hours and the 2nd rise needed an hour to get to the full roll size. I also decreased the temp to 375 for about 18 min and covered them after about 10 min, because they browned quickly. My toddler enhaled these, and will keep on hand for a sneaky way for some squash.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by footballgrl16

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
The picture shows them made in a muffin pan but the directions say 13x9 pan. I think they would have been better in a muffin pan. Would have cooked properly if in a muffin pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
These rolls turned out very nicely, but I agree with a previous reviewer that they were somewhat bland. I will use a bit more salt next time. However, they still went nicely with soup, especially to soak up the extra broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
I halved this recipe today after reading the reviews. I also used half whole wheat flour. They came out beautiful and the halved recipe still made 12 good size buns. I thought they were a touch bland so next time I am going to add some herbs, but all in all a wonderful way to use squash up in a non-objectional way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by martese houle

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: St. Thomas, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
Had leftover roasted pumpkin from thanksgiving so used instead of winter squash. Also substituted soy milk for regular cows milk. Otherwise followed the recipe. Turned out well! Will make this again. Served right out of the oven with Irish unsalted butter, turkey and potato stew and green beans on side. In morning might try reheating with gravy.... Yum! Thanks for the recipe idea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by melissa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Solana Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
I made these today as a trial run for Thanksgiving, using fresh pumpkin as the squash. They have very good flavor and texture, but I think the number of servings is WAY off. I made 12 rolls as the recipe directed, but they ended up being enormous and, even after 20 minutes of baking, the ones in the middle were still doughy. I'll use this recipe for Thanksgiving, but I'll make the rolls half as large and bake them on my 10 x 15 inch baking sheet instead of in a 9 x 13 inch pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Keri

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Antelope Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2010
These were amazing!! I used butternut squash that was sold already cubed at Costco. After boiling and mashing the squash, and scalding the milk, I just combined all the ingredients in my kitchenaid mixer with rapidrise yeast. My kids went crazy! I will make these again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 137) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Prep and Cook Winter Squash

Discover all the different ways to prep and cook winter squash.

Glazed Butternut Squash

Learn how to make maple syrup- and dark rum-glazed butternut squash.

Butternut Squash Casserole

A creamy squash casserole with a custard-like texture and crunchy topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States