Winter Squash Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
Great flavor and texture. A good way to work more seasonal veggies into your meals. I made these for Thanksgiving and they were a hit! I think it's worth noting that the recipe makes way more than 12 servings, though. I cut the recipe in half and still filled a 9x13 pan with 12 dinner rolls!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by julie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oakridge, Oregon, USA
Living In: Medford, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
I loved these rolls, as did everyone else who ate them! I used butternut squash, so my rolls had a very nice yellow tint to them. Many previous reviews mentioned the large size of the rolls. I found them to be too large, as well, so I simply made 24 rolls instead of 12. They were the perfect size!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miss Dusty

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2011
These were so satisfying! I made them to go with tonight's dinner of potato leek soup and they were the perfect accompaniment. My husband ate so many, he didn't have room left for dessert. This recipe really does yield huge rolls, but that's not a bad thing. They're slightly sweet, moist and tender, and a lovely color. I found them super easy to whip together in my stand mixer with a bread hook, adding flour until the dough stopped sticking to the sides of the bowl. I prefer to roast my squash rather than boil it for a richer flavor, but this results in a lower water content, so I started with a little less flour and just keep adding until I had a smooth ball of dough. Fantastic recipe! These are going to become a staple in our fall and winter meals.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
These came out melt in your mouth light! I used a stick of butter instead of the shortening, and then brushed the tops with butter as soon as they were out of the oven. I agree that they didn't have a strong flavor, but for many dinners you don't want the roll to have a big flavor profile of its own. I'll be making these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dessert Crazy

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Lansdale, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2011
Way too much yeast for my taste. Otherwise its a good texture, but there are a a lot of recipes with better results and much less work on this website.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2011
I love this recipe! I tried making a 1/2 recipe, but wanted more squash, so I used what the recipe originally called for and just added more flour to it until it wasn't so sticky. I added butter to it before baking, which I probably shouldn't have done because it browns quicker, but it gave it an amazing baked in butter flavor. I'm hooked to fresh baked bread, thank you for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COOKING4MYBOYS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2011
So delicious! I've made them twice now with butternut squash. I freeze the extra dough in roll-sized portions and bake them one at a time when I'm on my own for dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amara

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sarah Jo
Reviewed: May 24, 2011
I cut this recipe in half. Because I did not have winter squash on hand, I used Trader Joe's organic canned pumpkin. I used my Kitchen Aid mixer to make these rolls. I proofed the yeast with the slightly-cooled scalded milk, warm water and sugar for ten minutes, then added the cooked squash, melted butter, and all the dry ingredients. I did need just a touch more flour than the recipe stated to get it to form into a ball and jump on the bread hook, almost another full cup. I kneaded it in the Kitchen Aid with the dough hook for about five minutes or more, adding more flour when the dough would stick to the bottom of the mixer bowl (which it did because the dough was rather sticky). I set it to rise in a greased bowl on my heating pad for an hour, then formed them into rolls and plopped them into greased muffin tins (about a heaping 1/4 cup for each roll?), covered them and set them to rise on my heating pad until they doubled. Right before baking, I lightly brushed them with a little melted butter. 400* for 12 minutes was absolutely perfect. Good sized dinner rolls that were soft, fluffy and absolutely wonderful. What a fantastic recipe and really, the pumpkin adds a pretty color and adds a little something to the roll that's really fantastic. I think this would make a great sweet roll dough. NOTE: Watch these in the oven, they do have quick minute or two where they could burn. I almost had that happen but I caught it just in time. HALF RECIPE for me was exactly 12 rolls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2011
Best rolls I ever made! Thanks so much for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Traci

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ozone Park, New York, USA
Living In: Milford, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by footballgrl16
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2011
Half of the recipe made 12 big rolls for me! These were much like another recipe for rolls, but I enjoyed these equally and they have added nutrients from the squash. I don't like recipes that call for cubed raw beggies, as the size of your cubes really can affect the amount. I ended up using 1/2 c of mashed squash for half of the recipe. I used margarine instead of shortening to give it some more flavor. I did end up kneading another cup of flour at least to get this to the right consistency. The first rise took 2 hours and the 2nd rise needed an hour to get to the full roll size. I also decreased the temp to 375 for about 18 min and covered them after about 10 min, because they browned quickly. My toddler enhaled these, and will keep on hand for a sneaky way for some squash.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by footballgrl16

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 143) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Prep and Cook Winter Squash

Discover all the different ways to prep and cook winter squash.

Glazed Butternut Squash

Learn how to make maple syrup- and dark rum-glazed butternut squash.

Butternut Squash Casserole

A creamy squash casserole with a custard-like texture and crunchy topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States