Winter Squash Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
By far the best rolls my husband and I have ever made. We were shocked at how moist and delicious they were. The squash flavor is not overpowering. We made two batches. One with a ligher yellow fleshed squash and one with a deeper orange fleshed squash. I think the orange one made prettier rolls with a sweeter flavor. VERY, very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Combest

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Humble, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
Fabulous! Two cheats - I bought a bag of already peeled & cubed butternut squash at Trader Joe's, and I used unsalted butter instead of shortening. I haven't made a yeast dough in years, and I'd really forgotten how satisfying and FUN it is. I used my KA, so the dough worked up like a dream, and didn't require very much additional flour during the kneading (I love to knead by hand). I should have read more reviews, though. The rolls were ginormous (I made 12), and some of the dough went to the compost bin. Served them for Christmas dinner, and got rave reviews. With butter and tayberry jam...delicious! With leftover turkey, cream cheese and cranberry sauce later for supper...delicious! Thank you, Tracey for a real keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
I tried this recipe as my first experiment in cooking with squash and I am more than happy with the results. Very tasty, even the kids loved them. I was worried they might be heavy as I needed to use more flour than called for to get the dough to pull together cleanly, so I allowed the second rise to go for an hour as well. The rolls were light and fluffy with a distinct, balanced flavour that compliments the food they were served with. This one's a keeper, thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
These were amazing. I baked a butternut squash and used 1 and 1/2 cups. I substituted organic butter for the shortening, decreased the salt by half, made 15 rolls and a medium sized bread braid. Brushed with butter for last 5 minutes. Very hearty bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2011
A staple in our house! These rolls are DELICIOUS! I did re arrange the directions a little only because I have more success making bread with this method. This is what I did...I mixed the flour, salt, sugar & yeast. Then I heated the squash, milk, water & butter (that I subbed for the shortening because I don't eat trans fats). And then added the liquid ingredients to the flour mixture. I did have to add more flour, maybe a cup or so. It made a soft dough that rose very nicely. I made double the rolls that the recipe called for because I prefer smaller rolls and baked them at 400 degrees for 15 minutes. These are soft and fluffy and go wonderful with soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
light and fluffy, they were wonderful!.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bountiful, Utah, USA
Living In: Laie, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
These are delicious! Unfortunately, I had to make them a second time since they didn't work out the first time. It was my fault; after letting the dough to rise the first time, I then put the dough in the fridge overnight thinking it would be ok to rise again. Then, I didn't thoroughly allow the dough to warm up to room temperature. What ended up coming out of the oven was half a dozen rocks. Determined to figure out what happened, I made them again and this time allowed the dough to rise at room temperature and they came out perfectly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gehbienes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
Tasty, moist rolls. I made 16 rolls instead of 12 and I still thought the rolls were a little big. I also brushed the tops of the rolls with egg which gave them a nice sheen. The dough is a little hard to form into rounds. Maybe I just need more practice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
Great flavor and texture. A good way to work more seasonal veggies into your meals. I made these for Thanksgiving and they were a hit! I think it's worth noting that the recipe makes way more than 12 servings, though. I cut the recipe in half and still filled a 9x13 pan with 12 dinner rolls!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by julie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oakridge, Oregon, USA
Living In: Medford, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
I loved these rolls, as did everyone else who ate them! I used butternut squash, so my rolls had a very nice yellow tint to them. Many previous reviews mentioned the large size of the rolls. I found them to be too large, as well, so I simply made 24 rolls instead of 12. They were the perfect size!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miss Dusty

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

Displaying results 51-60 (of 141) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Prep and Cook Winter Squash

Discover all the different ways to prep and cook winter squash.

Glazed Butternut Squash

Learn how to make maple syrup- and dark rum-glazed butternut squash.

Butternut Squash Casserole

A creamy squash casserole with a custard-like texture and crunchy topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States