Winter Squash Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
I wish I could give this 5 stars,its almost amazing! Like other reviewers said, this recipe is better halved, even when it is, you still get 12 big buns! So I half everything and use a cup of squash that I have pre mashed. I also season the squash a bit with nutmeg. The buns are so moist and delish, I usually end up cooking them for 30 minutes or longer at 375'. The first time I cooked this recipe, I followed it exactly and ended up with 12 MASSIVE ROLLS, that weren't cooked in the middle or properly and I had them in the oven for nearly an hour. So cook time was very wrong for me. So please read other reviews so you dont end up with a disapointing batch :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2012
I made these today using butternut squash. I used half the recipe but wish I hadn't! These looked beautiful. I substituted butter for the shortening, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2012
What i a wonderful recipe. I added a little more sugar so they were a bit on the sweet side. Just the way i like it. I've stored them overnight in a plastic wrap. Next day they were very soft and tasty. I will definitely make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AnnaB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pasadena, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2012
I make these on a regular basis now. I made them for Thanksgiving with some farmers market delicate a squash I wanted to put to good us. I make them at least once a month. I ziplock them and ration them to the best of my abilities. I use butternut usually and up the amount to 3+cups....I use them for breakfast with honey or cinnamon/butter....yummy! My son and I love them! With honey(cardamom cinnamon) its like French toast!! Great recipe. It deserves more than 5 stars
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2012
My kids LOVED these...which is a feat considering they won't touch squash. We used them as buns for sliders with a crockpotted roast. The dough is really easy to make. The only difficulty I ran into was that they ended up being super doughy...even after I threw them in the oven for a little longer three times (once in the pan, once completely separated, and once separated and cut in 1/2 doughy side down). Next time (and there WILL be a next time), I won't use the pan...I'll put individual rolls on my stoneware to bake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2012
ok please somebody HELP. I have all these bread recipes that call for 1 or 2 packages of yeast or .25 ounces. how much is that measurement if using a spoon? 1 teaspoon , 2 teaspoons 8 teaspoons. I am confused and can't find the conversion for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2012
Wonderful! I was given two butternut squash this fall, and had no idea what to do with them! While I do enjoy it simply baked, there was no way I wanted to eat them both that way! This solved my dilemma, and I plan to make some to take to my family's Christmas gathering, I'm sure everyone will love them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2012
Loved, loved, loved this recipe! I used roasted butternut and found I needed to add a lot more flour (maybe another 1 1/2 c), as the dough was very stick. I subbed 1/2 c wheat flour but hesitated to use much more for fear of them getting too heavy. Texture was perfect! I halved the recipe and still came out with 12 large rolls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2012
Really, really yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by b.stebick

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2012
I used pumpkin, these were great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Queen Llemon

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 41-50 (of 148) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Prep and Cook Winter Squash

Discover all the different ways to prep and cook winter squash.

Glazed Butternut Squash

Learn how to make maple syrup- and dark rum-glazed butternut squash.

Butternut Squash Casserole

A creamy squash casserole with a custard-like texture and crunchy topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States