Winter Solstice Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by chefnan
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
Delicious but a little thin. I added a parsnip
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chefnan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2013
Was looking around for a simple soup to go along with lunch today and found this. Very simple, especially if you like the taste of carrots and potatoes. Didn't have parsley and thyme on hand, used fresh coriander instead. My mother didn't particularly care for this soup, but my sister and I really enjoyed it. Added a healthy pinch of chili to suit our tastes. Will make again using the reccomended herbs, and then again following a suggestion of one of the reviewers to add curry. Oh, didn't read the exact instructions before making, and I tossed in the onions, potatoes and carrots all at the same time. Used a mixture of butter and olive oil, and reduced the quantity too. Lovely golden color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kiren K

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2011
Just realized that I had never reviewed this soup. Have been making it for several years now and find it very easy to make and the flavor is wonderful. This is my favorite comfort food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2011
This soup is fantastic and so so simple! I only gave a 4 because I make a few additions, but the base soup is quite good. I usually add more carrots and potatoes (double given quantities), so there are more chunks after it is pureed; and I use broth (veggie or chicken depending on what I have) for at least half if not all the water. Also, I sometimes add in white beans to add a little bit of protein to make the soup last a little longer in our bellies. It is perfect on a cold winter night, just add some crusty bread to sop up those last drops of broth!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2011
I didn't care for this and neither did my husband. It wasn't bad, just not exciting at all. I'm giving it 3 stars because I think it can be tweaked into something yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2011
A delicious and comforting soup. So simple to make, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
yummy! so simple so good...filled the house with a great scent too. took the advice of one reviewer and added 2 stalks of celery. i cut the thyme in half and added 1/4 ts of curry and a sprinkling of ginger. delish! i should have made double. was surprisingly filling when served with biscuits--next time i'll throw in some soft tofu for protein.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
I made this exactly as the recipe read tonight for my family and everyone found it bland. I'm going to try to doctor it up tomorrow because it seems like it may be a good base for something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2009
I thought this was bland...It was ok to eat, but I won't be making it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newton, Iowa, USA
Living In: Spencer, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2009
"Soup-er" tasty! I did make one change in the recipe - I used nonfat milk instead of whole or 2%. This decreased the calories per serving to 194, which isn't too shabby for a cream + potato soup. One change to use non-fat milk takes the nutritional stats to this: Calories 194 (down 36) Fat 3.5 (half) Carbs 33 Protein 7 Hey - some people care about this stuff - and I was able to offer a lower-fat food to the kiddos :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rhonda Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sumner, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Cream of Mushroom Soup I

See how to make rich, creamy mushroom soup from scratch.

Chef John's Creamy Mushroom Soup

Discover the simple trick to delicious homemade creamy mushroom soup.

Shortcut Squash Soup

Follow these simple shortcuts for delicious butternut squash soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States