Winter Root Vegetable Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2010
Loved it! The combination of the different flavors from the roots were wonderful. Next time I am going to cut back on the butternut squash a little and add more parsnips and celery root. I have never cooked with celery root before but now it's my favorite. The only thing I would add to this recipe is to stir in herbs. I used basil and dill and I think it added a little more flavor (not that it was lacking)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2010
I just made this and it is delicious. I added 3 cloves of garlic to the celery and onion while I cooked that. I also added some garlic powder, cumin, and dried parsley to the soup while it simmered. I think cumin goes very well with root vegetables. Thanks for the great recipe! This is the perfect thing for a cold winter day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brandi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rockville, Maryland, USA
Living In: Frederick, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2010
I made this tonight but tweaked it to my personal liking. I had no parsnips so used 4 turnips, substituted garlic rosemary bread dipping blend for the salt and pepper. I added 2 leeks and garlic to the onion, celery, and butter. I used 2 1/2 Tbls vegetable paste, 1 cup white wine (Chardonnay), and 6 cups of water to make the broth. Then I added the roasted vegies. It looked so good as it was that I didn't puree it or add the cream. It turned out great, will definitely make this again and again. I had never used celery root but will from now on, and I will have to try it with the parsnips as I'm sure it will add another great flavor. Thanks for sharing your recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
I served this as a starter for a 5-course meal on New Year's Eve...so for simplicity sake, I placed all the prepared vegetables in my roaster, along with the onion, 4 cloves of garlic, canola oil, and the seasonings. I roasted them @ 350F for 2 hours, stirring once every 25 mins. I then placed the roaster on my stove top, scraped down the sides with a whisk, and while adding the vegetable broth...I pureed it with my hand-held blender. Instead of adding the cream, I served it with a dollop of fat-free sour cream. Although my guests begged for seconds, I made them hold off until after the 5th course was served. Needless to say I ended up sending them home with the left over soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dancing Queen

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Cambridge, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2010
This has a good flavor and I like the combination of veggies. Some problems I ran into: Butternut squash roasts to fork tender much more quickly than some of the other things being roasted! So, by the time I had everything soft, some of the veggies had begun to crisp & brown! Once I started to puree, it became more "mashed veggie" consistency than soup. I added more broth, ran out of veggie broth...and moved on to chicken broth! Maybe I had more veggies than called for? I dislike amounts like "3 carrots" instead of 3 ounces, or 2 cups. The carrots I grabbed were the smallest in the bag, but still larger than others I've bought (farmer's market veggies vs. store veggies?)! My sweet potato was kind of large, b/c the alternative was 2 very small ones & I thought the big one looked nicer on the outside. So, maybe I had too many veggies, in the end I just added more liquid to help boost it...but I do think this could use some more herbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Valrico, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2010
Wow, this was GREAT! I couldn't get celery root, but it was wonderful just the same. I subbed skim milk for the half-&-half and chicken broth for the vegetable broth because that's all I had on hand. At the end, I added about 1/3 cup orange juice and some nutmeg to taste. A tasty way to warm up a chilly Autumn day :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lupusliz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dover, Ohio, USA
Living In: Osaka, Osaka, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2010
Very nice soup. I used broth I made from a combination of veg tips an peels that I saved in a zip bag in the freezer and some veg that I roasted. Much better than packaged and you control the salt. I needed two quarts of broth to thin this enough to eat....still quite thick. I added nutmeg and the grated peel of one orange at the end. This really made it pop. Otherwise, no other changes. Served with paninis made with swiss, provolone, tomato and proscuitto. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
amazing! added a few of the suggestions: -garlic when cooking onion and celery -dill, cumin, garlic powder, and parsley after adding roasted veggies to soup sooooooooooo good....highly recommend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2011
I had made Sean's Mommy's Roasted Root Veggies from this site earlier this week. And with only 3 in the household, there were plenty of leftovers. So I made this soup to use them up. Cut the time down quite a bit since the veggies were already roasted earlier in the week. Wonderful flavor. Loved it!!! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kgadison
Living In: Blaine, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2010
Our family thought this was pretty good. I gave it 4 stars because I didn't have celery root or turnips on hand, so I left them out (but I did sprinkle a little celery seed in with the onions), so I don't know how this exact recipe would taste. I put 3 small cloves of garlic in with the onions & used milk instead of cream. Tasted great & felt pretty healthy too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Quick and Easy Vegetable Soup

See how to make a healthy, super-simple vegetable soup.

Chef John’s Root Vegetable Gratin

See how to make a simple cheesy gratin with root vegetables and potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States