Winter Root Vegetable Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2010
Loved it! The combination of the different flavors from the roots were wonderful. Next time I am going to cut back on the butternut squash a little and add more parsnips and celery root. I have never cooked with celery root before but now it's my favorite. The only thing I would add to this recipe is to stir in herbs. I used basil and dill and I think it added a little more flavor (not that it was lacking)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2010
I just made this and it is delicious. I added 3 cloves of garlic to the celery and onion while I cooked that. I also added some garlic powder, cumin, and dried parsley to the soup while it simmered. I think cumin goes very well with root vegetables. Thanks for the great recipe! This is the perfect thing for a cold winter day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brandi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rockville, Maryland, USA
Living In: Frederick, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2010
Very nice soup. I used broth I made from a combination of veg tips an peels that I saved in a zip bag in the freezer and some veg that I roasted. Much better than packaged and you control the salt. I needed two quarts of broth to thin this enough to eat....still quite thick. I added nutmeg and the grated peel of one orange at the end. This really made it pop. Otherwise, no other changes. Served with paninis made with swiss, provolone, tomato and proscuitto. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2010
I made this tonight but tweaked it to my personal liking. I had no parsnips so used 4 turnips, substituted garlic rosemary bread dipping blend for the salt and pepper. I added 2 leeks and garlic to the onion, celery, and butter. I used 2 1/2 Tbls vegetable paste, 1 cup white wine (Chardonnay), and 6 cups of water to make the broth. Then I added the roasted vegies. It looked so good as it was that I didn't puree it or add the cream. It turned out great, will definitely make this again and again. I had never used celery root but will from now on, and I will have to try it with the parsnips as I'm sure it will add another great flavor. Thanks for sharing your recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2010
This has a good flavor and I like the combination of veggies. Some problems I ran into: Butternut squash roasts to fork tender much more quickly than some of the other things being roasted! So, by the time I had everything soft, some of the veggies had begun to crisp & brown! Once I started to puree, it became more "mashed veggie" consistency than soup. I added more broth, ran out of veggie broth...and moved on to chicken broth! Maybe I had more veggies than called for? I dislike amounts like "3 carrots" instead of 3 ounces, or 2 cups. The carrots I grabbed were the smallest in the bag, but still larger than others I've bought (farmer's market veggies vs. store veggies?)! My sweet potato was kind of large, b/c the alternative was 2 very small ones & I thought the big one looked nicer on the outside. So, maybe I had too many veggies, in the end I just added more liquid to help boost it...but I do think this could use some more herbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Valrico, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2010
I mixed up the root veggies, added a little extra broth and it tasted amazing. Didn't even need to add the half and half because the veggies had so much flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mommyluvs2cook
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2010
SO GOOD!!! I only pureed about 1/2 the soup and left the rest whole veggies so that the family would eat it. I loved everything about this soup!!! I thought the pureed soup part was the best so next time I'll just make if for myself so I can puree all of it! So flavorful and perfect for fall/winter! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
I enjoyed the comfort food quality of this but I wasn't crazy about it. I subbed olive oil for the butter and used a little flour & water to thicken it instead of adding the half 'n half (on a vegan diet) and it was plenty thick & creamy. I used only one turnip because after tasting a piece of one raw I thought it was pretty bitter and I ended up wishing I'd left it out entirely. I didn't have any carrots but thought the sweet potato & squash would lend enough sweetness and they did. What this soup needed was seasoning and I ended up going with garlic & rosemary, which I really liked. I didn't have celery or sweet onion so I used a large shallot and 4 plump cloves of garlic instead and really liked the flavor. I may make this again but will substitute yukon gold potatoes for the turnips. I honestly think the turnips are what ruined it for me. They were just too bitter. Tasted like there were radishes in the soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RivertownMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Adair County, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2010
Our family thought this was pretty good. I gave it 4 stars because I didn't have celery root or turnips on hand, so I left them out (but I did sprinkle a little celery seed in with the onions), so I don't know how this exact recipe would taste. I put 3 small cloves of garlic in with the onions & used milk instead of cream. Tasted great & felt pretty healthy too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
amazing! added a few of the suggestions: -garlic when cooking onion and celery -dill, cumin, garlic powder, and parsley after adding roasted veggies to soup sooooooooooo good....highly recommend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Quick and Easy Vegetable Soup

See how to make a healthy, super-simple vegetable soup.

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States