Winter Root Vegetable Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
This was very hearty and delicious. I added some fresh rosemary. I decided to try the soup without using vegetable or other flavored broth, just for fun. I used 6 cups of water because I added a lot of extra vegetables, like parsley root, mushrooms, and leeks. Cutting all those raw root vegetables is big job, and kind of dangerous! Also added some lemon pepper and cumin. It is great without the added cream, too. It would be easier to use Mrs. CMBG's roaster idea, but I forgot to try that method. Instead, I lined my roasting pan with foil and sprayed it lightly with oil, and after roasting, I found I was able to just pick the foil up and funnel the vegetables into the pot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2011
I doubled the recipe to take it to a friend who had a baby, and it turned out very bitter. Maybe I used too many turnips, but it was not good. I did not have celery root and I substituted carnival squash for butternut. I would not make this recipe again. The liquid portions are way off as well. I had to add 3 additional cups of liquid to make it a soup consistence vs. baby food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2011
Delicious. I didn't have parsnips or sweet potato so I added more turnips and more carrots. I used a whole instead of a half onion, and added, as others did, garlic, cumin and parsley. My main modification was to substitute non-fat plain yogurt for the half and half. I like the tang it added.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2011
FANTASTIC!! Some of us sprinkled cumin on the soup and some of us sprinkled some dill. I also garnished each bowl with a few slivered almonds. Lots of chopping and peeling, but so worth it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2011
I had made Sean's Mommy's Roasted Root Veggies from this site earlier this week. And with only 3 in the household, there were plenty of leftovers. So I made this soup to use them up. Cut the time down quite a bit since the veggies were already roasted earlier in the week. Wonderful flavor. Loved it!!! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kgadison

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oelwein, Iowa, USA
Living In: Blaine, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
Delicious with a touch of nutmeg! Needed very little half and half!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2011
Very versatile soup. Add more or less of each vegetable to change the flavor. We're going to try it with a little roasted garlic next time. Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
I served this as a starter for a 5-course meal on New Year's Eve...so for simplicity sake, I placed all the prepared vegetables in my roaster, along with the onion, 4 cloves of garlic, canola oil, and the seasonings. I roasted them @ 350F for 2 hours, stirring once every 25 mins. I then placed the roaster on my stove top, scraped down the sides with a whisk, and while adding the vegetable broth...I pureed it with my hand-held blender. Instead of adding the cream, I served it with a dollop of fat-free sour cream. Although my guests begged for seconds, I made them hold off until after the 5th course was served. Needless to say I ended up sending them home with the left over soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dancing Queen

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Cambridge, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
I made this soup last night and although the terms used were imprecise, I found that it was a really good foundation to start from. I didn't have any turnips so I just put in more of the other vegetables. Like others I added some other spices & seasonings such as a couple cloves of garlic, some italian seasoning; it turned out really good! And I used fat-free milk but I don't think it even needed it. Also, my sister hates carrots and she even thought it was tasty! Thanks for the recipe. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by yacqueli

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Los Alamitos, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
Delicious! I made this for myself, I didn't think my family would like it. Well what a surprise! They loved it!! Roasting the veggies improves the flavour so much. Even the veggies we don't normally like much, the routabega became sweet. The only change I made was I didn't add the cream, I'm not a fan, and I don't think the soup really needs it. It's rich enough without.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Quick and Easy Vegetable Soup

See how to make a healthy, super-simple vegetable soup.

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States