Winter Root Vegetable Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2014
Cleaning out the fridge: - carrots, parsnips, turnips, beets, sweet potato for the roast step - butter, onion, garlic, celery for saute chicken stock for simmer w/bit of parsley, rosemary and thyme - evap milk to finish and topped w/parmesan to serve. Really tasty and great way to finish up those stray roots
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2014
Thicker than a normal soup, but oh so yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2014
Added beets because we had them and it turned out very sweet. But overall we liked it and will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALMEMOORE

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Lansing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2014
This soup is so good! I didn't have turnips, but otherwise made as per the recipe. I found I needed much more stock to get a "soupy" consistency, but that meant I had much more soup! It freezes well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
I really liked it! I woke today and it was 12 degrees outside. Been carrying this around for a while now and finally made it.never cook much with parsnips, butternut squash, and never with celery root. I pretty much followed the recipe but did take a few hints from the other reviews. I used four parsnips, 2 celery roots, I did add about a tsp of dried basil, a tsp of dill weed. I also used one whole chopped sweet onion and two cloves of minced garlic. Because I increased those items it took almost 1 pint of half and half and almost 32 oz boxes of vegetable broth. The result was creamy smooth and not too sweet and not bitter at all. Warming this soup tomorrow will be fantastic! The only thing that you may want change is cutting up the turnips more as I found cutting them into even eights required more than an hour to cook them through. Thank you! This a unique soup and one to keep!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2013
So delicious. I modified as others suggested by doubling the broth (needed it), and adding garlic, parsley and cumin. I did not add half-and-half and served sour cream on the side. It was a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2013
It was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by RAYRAYL
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2013
A local Irish restaurant in town serves root soup and I wanted to find the recipe. This is VERY close! It was delicious. The only thing I did different was I did add Garlic and I had some rutabaga that I added from our garden. Some are saying the texture was too 'baby food like'. That is exactly what root soup is! :) If you are adding more broth, then saying it is too bland - that is why. If you add too much broth you are watering down the taste of the veggies. I served this with some home made Irish Brown Bread. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RAYRAYL

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
I made this with a big bulb of fennel instead of celeriac, and I eyeballed the rest of the ingredients. Turned out super thick, so I added some milk until the mixture was more soup-like. Used my trusty immersion stick blender to puree it up just a little bit - wanted each bite of soup to have distinct vegetable flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2012
I was looking for a recipe to use some leftover roasted root veggies, so I tried this one. Per other reviews, I added cumin, salt, pepper, and a little garlic salt, and I followed the recipe (except for the celery root). The first few bites were good and hearty, but then it started tasting a little like dirt; the earthiness was a little heavy. The veggies I had were butternut squash, sweet potato, red onion, parsnips, carrots, zucchini, yellow squash, mushrooms, and red onion. I'm sure it was a combination of my own "operator error" and the veggies I used, but I was a little disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Johanna WISHES she were a

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 1-10 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Quick and Easy Vegetable Soup

See how to make a healthy, super-simple vegetable soup.

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States