Winter Minestra Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2008
Fantastic - a nice gut filling soup for this crazy Montana winter. Add a little red wine and it'll drive the people wild!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by klml
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2009
This turned out quite good, a really nice soup/stew. Liked the flavor with the peppers and spice, I added more. A quick and easy recipe suggestion that can easliy have different veggies or spices added or substitied to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by klml

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2009
This had some heat, and I didn't even add the red pepper flakes! I nixed the cauliflower, added red wine, and halved the beef broth. I used the crockpot (browned beef first) and threw everything in on low to cook all day. DELISH.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2009
This is a great recipe! I didn't have mushrooms but added a package of Knorr Vegetable soup mix. So yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BLONDIENEG
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2009
I only used one can of beef broth and added a lot of garlic salt and about 1 tsp of Italian seasoning. I also omitted the bag of frozen veggies but took the advice of a prior reviewer and added about 1 c. of red wine. My husband loved it! Topped with aged parmesean and served with fresh beer bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BLONDIENEG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Elk Grove, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2009
Not very flavorful and I followed the recipe exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tawna

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
Very easy to make & my kids LOVED it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2011
I'm usually opposed to ground beef in soup, but since I that's all I had, I found this recipe. Not bad! I basically used this as a jump-off point for all the fresh veggies I had sitting around that needed to be used -- a head of cauliflower, bunch of broccoli, carrots, squash, onion. Since I was out of tomatoes, I used a can of tomato paste. Also used two beef bouillon and two chicken/tomato bouillon, since that's what I had. I also wanted to thicken it and stretch it some, so added about a 1/2 cup barley. So, basically I barely followed the recipe at all... but I am of the opinion that it's hard to go wrong making soup. Throw in what you have, throw in some spices, let it simmer and voila: soup. This is a great starting point recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2013
As written this was really bland. I added a teaspoon each of dried basil and oregano, which helped add flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kellieann

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manson, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA


 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cozy Winter Dinner

Nothing makes a dinner party more inviting than satisfying comfort food.

Beef Stew with Roasted Winter Vegetables

This hearty stew is fresh and flavorful, and makes a great comfort-food meal.

How to Prep and Cook Winter Squash

Discover all the different ways to prep and cook winter squash.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States