Winter Melon Meatball Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2012
I really enjoyed this soup and my family did too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2012
only good if you like ginger...we ended up not finishing it because the ginger was overwhelming
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2012
This is a wonderful recipe and very easy to make. You can also add egg drop (beaten egg) and or rice vermicelli into the soup to add some more body to the broth. Will definitely make it again! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookingMaMa08

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Foster City, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2012
Very good, although 2 eggs is definitely too much as others have mentioned, it just turned to a pile of goop so I had to add more pork. The salt was fine for me, I don't know why so many said it was too salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Schenectady, New York, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
Very good soup. I've made it for my in-laws and they enjoyed it. I had to change a few items. I only use 1 egg because with 2 eggs the pork mixture became runny and the meatballs fell apart in the soup. I boil the soup first then add the winter melon in because I find that if you add the winter melon at the beginning, the melons become too soft for my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2011
I am from Japan and we have different ways of cooking Winter Melons. However, being in the US, I decided to try this Chinese version. I changed the recipe slightly by substituting the cilantro with minced green onion, omitted sugar from both the meat balls and the soup, and omitted garlic from meat balls. I also added Chinese soup bouillon (do not use American soup stock because they use different spices) and sake in the soup to add more taste, added sliced fresh Shiitake and frozen taro potatoes (satoimo in Japanese) in the soup. The result was delicious. My son who does not usually like vegetables (if Winter Melon is considered a vegetable) ate two servings. I boiled the cut Winter Melon and the frozen taro potatoes for 10 - 15 minutes and drained the water before putting them in the soup stock because I like softer melon and potatoes. I will definitely make this soup again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2011
Being the typical American, I find most Chinese soups a bit bland, however this one was quite good. It's a traditional Chinese soup and the taste was great and the meatballs were excellent. There was a bit missing, even after adding Chinese mushrooms, water chestnuts, and some tofu (I like "stuff" in my soup too). The pickled eggs would have been a perfect addition and will be sure to add them next time. My roommate normally hates traditional Chinese foods, however I sold her on this one. I do suggest adding a pinch of white pepper when you dish up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Daughter of Cheryl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Bellingham, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2011
I didnt like the sweetness and i used only 1/2 the sugar called for in the meatballs. I will make it again but i think i will omit the sugar all together and use only egg whites in the meatballs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
I was a little surprised when I came home with my winter melon from the Asian market. I opened it up in the morning, expecting a melon, but instead got this. So thinking of what I would do with this, I went on this website and found this website. i had all of the ingredients and it was very simple to make. I was still afraid about how this would come out because of the cucumber smell and taste of the squash. But I love this! It is absolutely delicious. I recommend it to everyone, even if you don't like cucumber because it ends up tasting like potatoes and broth with meatballs. I will probably make this again with my other half of my melon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2010
Thanks for bringing back memories of my parents cooking this when I was growing up! I used Chinese turnip instead of winter melon (couldn't find any at the store this week). I halved the meatball ingredients to 5 servings, keeping the soup base at 10 servings. I also threw several sprigs of cilantro into the soup base toward the end. Very flavorful and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Pork Wonton Soup

See how to make delicious pork wontons in a simple broth.

Wonton Soup

See how to make tasty stuffed wontons simmered in a light chicken broth.

Egg Drop Soup (Better than Restaurant Quality)

See how to make restaurant-quality egg drop soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States