Winter Melon Meatball Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2009
I enjoyed this winter soup but the second time I made some adjustments: Used 1 egg as found the meatballs didn't stick together well. I also added chopped water chestnuts to the meatball mixture as I enjoy a little crunch. Used half the amount of salt as I found it too salty the first time or you can add more water. I also added dried chinese mushrooms soaked in water, drained & sliced.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
My first attempt at cooking with bitter melon! The soup is very good - I used lean ground pork and only 1 egg in the meatballs, and followed the suggestions of others and added sliced rehydrated dried Chinese mushrooms, tofu and dried shrimp in during the initial phase of cooking, and then cracked in a salted duck egg (chopped the yolk up first, as it was hard) after I added the meatballs. Just before serving, I stirred in 3 sliced green onions. Everyone thought it was delicious, though I agree with a previous reviewer that it might be a tad too salty. Next time, I will try adding chopped water chestnuts to the meatball mixture to add crunch. I found that the meatballs themselves were very very soft and somewhat hard to form - any suggestions on how to make firmer meatballs?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2012
I really enjoyed this soup and my family did too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
I was a little surprised when I came home with my winter melon from the Asian market. I opened it up in the morning, expecting a melon, but instead got this. So thinking of what I would do with this, I went on this website and found this website. i had all of the ingredients and it was very simple to make. I was still afraid about how this would come out because of the cucumber smell and taste of the squash. But I love this! It is absolutely delicious. I recommend it to everyone, even if you don't like cucumber because it ends up tasting like potatoes and broth with meatballs. I will probably make this again with my other half of my melon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2011
I am from Japan and we have different ways of cooking Winter Melons. However, being in the US, I decided to try this Chinese version. I changed the recipe slightly by substituting the cilantro with minced green onion, omitted sugar from both the meat balls and the soup, and omitted garlic from meat balls. I also added Chinese soup bouillon (do not use American soup stock because they use different spices) and sake in the soup to add more taste, added sliced fresh Shiitake and frozen taro potatoes (satoimo in Japanese) in the soup. The result was delicious. My son who does not usually like vegetables (if Winter Melon is considered a vegetable) ate two servings. I boiled the cut Winter Melon and the frozen taro potatoes for 10 - 15 minutes and drained the water before putting them in the soup stock because I like softer melon and potatoes. I will definitely make this soup again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
Very good soup. I've made it for my in-laws and they enjoyed it. I had to change a few items. I only use 1 egg because with 2 eggs the pork mixture became runny and the meatballs fell apart in the soup. I boil the soup first then add the winter melon in because I find that if you add the winter melon at the beginning, the melons become too soft for my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2012
This is a wonderful recipe and very easy to make. You can also add egg drop (beaten egg) and or rice vermicelli into the soup to add some more body to the broth. Will definitely make it again! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookingMaMa08

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Foster City, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2010
Thanks for bringing back memories of my parents cooking this when I was growing up! I used Chinese turnip instead of winter melon (couldn't find any at the store this week). I halved the meatball ingredients to 5 servings, keeping the soup base at 10 servings. I also threw several sprigs of cilantro into the soup base toward the end. Very flavorful and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2007
I've been trying to find a winter melon soup recipe like mom makes and this one is very good. Thanks for sharing! The broth is missing some complexity of flavour however, and I'm not sure what it is. Perhaps next time I will try adding some dried mini shrimp and crack a salted duck egg into the broth. Since I like "stuff" in my soup, I also added some cubed medium-firm tofu during the last couple minutes of cooking. This was a very healthy meal. Thanks again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2009
I just made this soup. WOW what a wonderful flavor. I felt like I was in a fancy restaurant. I add some spring onions after the main soup had cooked and before I added the meatballs. WONDERFUL!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Pork Wonton Soup

See how to make delicious pork wontons in a simple broth.

Wonton Soup

See how to make tasty stuffed wontons simmered in a light chicken broth.

Egg Drop Soup (Better than Restaurant Quality)

See how to make restaurant-quality egg drop soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States