Winter Lentil Vegetable Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2009
this soup is excellent. i make it weekly and take it for lunch or even for a snack. great when your watching your calories also cheap to make
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2009
When I made this soup, I doubled the lentils and the chicken broth. I also added more curry powder than it called for. It was quite good, but it could have used some more flavour. It tastes much better the next day (like most soups I think). All in all, this soup is very cheap to make so I will likely make again and play around with the spices a little.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by CookinBug
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2009
Fantastic! It's only August here, but it's already feeling like November and this really warmed us up. I skipped the onions, added a bit more cabbage, and upped the chicken broth to about 4 cups. I stuck everything in the slow cooker and cooked it on low for about 8 hours. Great flavor and everything was cooked to perfection. I will make this again. Thank you! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinBug
Home Town: Ithaca, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2009
This was so good. I added a diced potato and an extra half cup of lentils. I simmered it for 1 hour and it was done, just right. I just had a huge bowl and wished I was still hungry so I could eat more. Thanks for this easy, yummy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Laguna Beach, California, USA
Living In: Orangevale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2009
okay..I am writing this review on this soup with only.. just tasting a spoonful,because it is simmering on the stove now..My whole house smells sooo good it was very easy to put together and it looks so good.I will post a FULL review after it's done..later..ok...it was delicous..the only changes I made was I used stewed tomatoes..and I had to add at least a cup more on chix broth...it is a keeper...thanks for the post..dont leave out the curry it really makes the soup
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeanene

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2009
This was a very tasty soup...it usually has to be exceptional for me to give a 5...it's not exceptional but I'm giving it a 5 because it is very tasty AND healthy which is sometimes difficult to find. I boiled and shredded 2 chicken breasts for some added protein and have been enjoying the left overs all week! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2009
This was yummy and filling, I skipped teh salt and celery (don't like) and added a tsp of celery salt. Also used double chicken broth and 1 cup of water. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracee Workman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greensburg, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2009
Really tasty. I used one cup of lentils and added more broth and the curry adds a nice warmth without being too spicey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2009
I was suprised at how good this soup was. I did not add the sugar, but did cook with a package of skinless, boneless chicken thighs, which shredded easily into the soup when it was done. Very hearty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2009
Very good I doubled the recipe and the leftovers were even better
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 135) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Chef John's Black Lentil Soup

Black lentils, bacon, and aromatic veggies make a deeply delicious soup.

Quick and Easy Vegetable Soup

See how to make a healthy, super-simple vegetable soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States