Winter Lentil Vegetable Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2010
Very hearty soup. Did double all ingredients except curry powder and can tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miya

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Englewood, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TTV78
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2010
Delicious soup! This was such a delight for both its flavor and it's simplicity. I doubled the recipe and am glad I did, because we are certainly looking forward to the leftovers! I didn't have any celery on hand, so I added another cup of cabbage to make up for it & threw in a handful of corn kernels that were laying around. I used diced tomatoes instead of the whole peeled and it worked out great. I also used a lot more garlic, but we do love our garlic. Other than that, everything else was perfect. Thank you so much for this keeper of a soup recipe! We absolutely love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TTV78

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Milpitas, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2010
My family did not particularly enjoy the flavor or texture of this soup. I will not be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2010
Great soup! Thanks for the tip to pre-boil and soak the lentils, it really help.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by larkspur
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2010
This is an excellent and very flavorful soup! It doesn't look like much, but the taste is great! I found it to be quite spicy...I loved this, but others in my family didn't. I didn't have the 28 oz. can of whole tomatoes, so I used what I had: a 14 oz. can of petite diced tomatoes instead. As they were already cut up and didn't contain much liquid, I filled up the can with water after pouring the tomatoes into the soup, and added that as well. This was the only change I made...the only thing about this recipe that I had a problem with was the length of time to cook the lentils. I found that they were still hard after 15 minutes; I cooked mine for about 8 minutes more before they were soft enough. Thanks again for sharing the recipe...I'll be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by larkspur

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Wauwatosa, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2009
One word describes this soup, awesome. Cheap to make and healthy to, try it. I did double the spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie Clunis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Upper Darby, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2009
Yum! My husband thought it was just "pretty good", but I thought it was delicious! I added more curry powder and some red pepper, bc we like spicier food. Also, did not preboil the lentils, just added more liquid to the soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cary, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sharyn
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2009
I soaked a pound of lentils in water overnight, and placed the soup in the slow cooker the next morning. I used fire roasted diced tomatoes, tons of garlic, and cut the cabbage in large shreds so it would hold up to the slow cooker. I cooked the soup on low for 10 hours, but the carrots were slightly undercooked (it ended up being a very large batch of soup). I cooked it another 3 hours on high, and the soup was perfect. Really, really comforting/tasty...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sharyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: West Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2009
Made this for dinner last night replacing chicken broth with vegetable broth and sauted the onion, celery, and carrots in olive oil before adding to the pot. My husband said it's his new favorite soup! Thanks for the tasty recipe. It's a great soup for the cool weather we're having now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2009
We loved this soup!! Even my husband, who didn't think he'd like it because it looked so "tomato-y." I had some fresh tomatoes on hand that needed to be used up so I used those and a small can of dices tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 135) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Chef John's Black Lentil Soup

Black lentils, bacon, and aromatic veggies make a deeply delicious soup.

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States